Current Archives About Me Host Design

Bad Day for June
11-13-2004, 8:54 p.m.

So today has not been the best of day's for June. Okay, not for me either, but that's okay. Let's see, where to begin.

I got up at 6 this morning to go to the bathroom and I heard Megan (my niece) whimpering, so I come to check on her. She is just awake, and noone else is, so I put on the Tigger movie to keep her happy. She is.. well I decide to lay down with her, but first I am going to change her diaper. When I do, I realize she is hot... very. So I take her temperature.. 100.8. Okay.. what's going on here. They all had running noses, and were coughing and sneezing, so I knew that they had colds.. but I didn't sign up for sick kids this weekend, lol. I try calling my brother to see what they want me to give her, but I can't get a hold of them. If it were June or Chrissy I would know what to give them, but with my mom being allergic to so many medications, I am afraid that maybe my brother's kids are as well. SO I keep trying to call.. and her fever is rising and I am starting to freak out. So finally I call Cory, and wake her up (Sorry Cory, but boy you helped). She told me that infant tylenol is pretty safe, and so I just go ahead with it. In the meantime though, the other kids are waking up.. Brian doesn't feel good, and June has a fever too. Ugh! The tylenol works, and Megan and I both get drenched as I let her sleep on my chest (she is a little over 2), but I feel so much better about it all. My brother finally came and picked them up around 10, and she was back to normal on her temperature by then, and back to being her fun bouncy self. What a morning.

Well June's fever started to come down too, but with the fever, we decided that we better not go to Andy's party and subject them all to it. I was SO disappointed though. I almost asked Tonya to watch the sickies so that I could go myself, but how fair would that be. I just didn't want to miss such an important thing. Chrissy was really disappointed too. Eventually I decide that pouting all day will not do anyone any good, so I decide to take Chrissy to get her eyebrows waxed and to the store to get the stuff to make her favorite dinner. June asked if she could go with, and since we wouldn't be gone too long, I decided that it wouldn't be too bad. Ugh. We went to Costco because the girls love going there on weekends when they have all these food samples... June wants to sample some soup... some hot soup... some hot soup that ended up on her hand when some ignorant man barreled into her without so much as an "I'm sorry". Tears ensued.. for about 30 minutes... she didn't feel good and when she doesn't feel good she cries at anything and everything. We get some medicated balm and put it on there and she was feeling a little better but still not too happy. So I buy her a movie to cheer her up. She asks if we could stop and michaels and get her some paint so she can paint a bird-house for her mom for christmas so we stop there, where some guy runs into her and steps on her foot. Again tears... ugh. Last stop, Chrissy and June beg to stop at starbucks... so we do, where some rude lady working there proceeds to yell at June. I guess I better back up there. I told June that she could pick out a gum or mint, and so she leans over to smell them to see which one she wants. I watched her do so, and she didn't do anything wrong. Well this employee comes up and bangs on the glass next to her and yells.. "are you going to buy all those now that you've put your nose all over them". Oh my, I saw red. June went to sit down and started crying hysterically... her head hurts now, and she is just so upset. I asked to speak to a manager, and voiced my complaint to which said rude employee came over. Maybe it was wrong, but I couldn't hold back... I spent the next 4 minutes yelling at her. I was furious! June never put her nose on anything, she leaned over to smell, and they are tins wrapped up in plastic, so what's the big deal anyway. AND, Don't YELL at my child while I am standing there watching her do whta I TOLD her to do. If you have a problem, tell me, not a 10 year old child who is not under your care. Both she and the manager apologized to both myself and June, and the manager let June come over and pick the mints she wanted. She told her she could smell them but June wasn't having any of that. She grabbed the first ones in the pile. Poor baby, by the time we got home her hand was all red as was her face from crying the whole time we were gone. My face was pretty red too, from yelling, and from wanting to cry.

I think she is feeling better now. We've been laying around the whole day watching movies and the such. I've kept her doped up, and she doesn't have a fever at this point, but I can tell that she still doesn't feel herself yet. I hate when they are sick, and it's been such a stressful day for me. I can't wait to go to sleep!

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image