Current Archives About Me Host Design

Growing Up
04-08-2002,

Growing Up...

April 08, 2002

I cannot believe that I am going to write this here, but my Chrissy is growing up so quickly. She got her first period today, and she wanted to call me right away to tell me. She moaned and cried about it, but she was secretly proud of it, and I am too. I can still remember my first period all those years ago.. how scary it was.. how embarrasing. Poor thing, lol.

I cannot believe that she is going to be 14 in a little over a month. 14 years old.. my gosh, where does the time go... I still think of her as this little baby that we carried around everywhere that we went.. or as a 6 year old so excited about getting a baby sister.. and now look.

Today was a crazy day at work.. With me being off on Thursday and Friday, my work sorta built up.. then we have a Faculty Senate Meeting on Wednesday and I have to get everything going for that. We are a bit behind and it's a pretty important meeting, but I am so sure that things are going to just come together.. or at least I hope so. I am certainly not nervous or afraid about it like I was last time, so that is at least a very positive thing. I am sure that I will still make some mistakes, afterall it's only my second meeting, but I am more confident in myself about it.. I wonder if some of it is not due to my working out and feeling more confident in myself.. I bet it is.

Okay, a memory from last week.. Last Wednesday was the day that we celebrated Tonya's birthday. We had such great surprises in store for her. We started out by taking her out to dinner.. and Cory brought a very yummy cake. She was so surprised, and happy. We gave her our gifts at the restaurant, and I was so excited to finally give her the Wolves jersey that I had bought her. She teared up when she opened it and I could tell right away that she loved it so much. That meant the world to me. Then it was time to head to the game.

We told her that Jen bought her ticket as her birthday present, but what we didn't tell her was that the seats were on the glass. We took her to some seats in the back and sat down, and she was so excited about them... then we said, let's go down to the ice, and see how cool it would be to sit down there... and when we sat down, we told her happy birthday. She started crying... so did Jen.. we all did sorta. It was such a sweet moment. That wasn't all though.. we went to go find Skates to sign her new jersey and got our picture taken with him, which is always fun. He even offered me a private viewing of his Black Betty dance after the game on Saturday (wink)... lol. Then we went back to our seats to watch the practice skate around, and put up our signs that we made her. OMG, we had made a sign that said, Hey Norm, it's my birthday, can you whip me up something special.. and he looked at it as soon as he came on the ice.. my heart was pounding the whole time because I had had a dream a few weeks before had that he had give Tonya his stick.. so imagine how I felt when I saw him skating towards us at the end of the skate around.. OMG.. when he flipped that stick over the glass, I wanted to cry with the excitement of it all.. and when Tonya right away told me, that's for you, I wanted to die. I told her No that it was hers, but she insisted.. she said that I was the biggest Wolves fan and that she really wanted me to have it. I must have asked her if she was sure 100000 times that night, but she was sure and I have a game used goalie stick.. OMG.. I still can't believe it.

We also arragned to have her name up on the board and she got a T-shirt tossed to her during the T-shirt toss... it was just such a great night. Sitting on the glass was too awesome, and being able to see the expressions of the players was just a great thing, and we all had such a wonderful time. I harely slept at all that night, because I woke up every 10 minutes to gaze at my stick, lol. Thank you soooooo much for giving that to me Tonya... I love it so much.

Daily Tidbits

  1. I felt so bad at first because it was Tonya's birthday and I wanted her to have the stick too, but I also know that if the situation was reversed that I would have done the same thing. That is just the kind of friendship the four of us have. If we were at something that they were totally into, and got a souvenir like the hockey stick, that I wouldn't hesitate to give it to them... I wouldn't even think twice.. and I am so grateful for what Tonya did. Besides, she had a good point, how would she get it home, and what the heck would she do with it, lol. I can think of a few things!
  2. I went to the library tonight to return some books and get a few more, and I rented a book on tape too. I ran to walmart to get a tape player with headphones so I can listen to my book tomorrow while I work out. I hope that is totally cool and makes my workout go quickly.
  3. I had a good workout today.. but more than that.. people are starting to talk to me over there.. asking me how my workout is, and just chatting. Wow, that was a cool feeling today when a few regulars stopped their workouts to chat for a minute.
  4. Today I did 6 sit ups on the bench that you are laying down at an angle on... I couldn't even do 1 a few weeks ago... I am going to work up... doing 1 more a day or so... so tomorrow 7.. until I am up to whatever I want to be at before I stay there, lol. I was so proud of those 6, giggle.
  5. The Wolves start in the playoffs tomorrow... I am excited.. Let's go Wolves!!
  6. Cory is a new aunt today.. I am still waiting to hear if she has a new niece or nephew.. I am so excited for her and wish she would call.
  7. 43 days!

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image