Current Archives About Me Host Design

Change
05-31-2003, 10:44 p.m.

Change...
A Dear X Collaboration

May 31, 2003

Dear Chuckie,

When I first asked you to get season passes for Great America with us, I was excited, because I knew how much it meant to you, to be able to ride on the rides after all these years of not being able to, and also, I knew how much you enjoy doing things, no matter what it is. I thought it would be fun for you to spend that time with the girls too. Then things changed, and you talked about how *you* were going to take the girls all the time, and how *you* talked your friends into getting passes too, and I have to admit that I was more than a little angry over the whole thing. Maybe, if I was being honest, I would have to admit to being a little jealous too. Great America has been something special that I have shared with the girls for several years now, and all of a sudden everything was changing, and instead of it feeling special, it felt like I was an after thought in it all.

Instead of telling you how I felt, I held it in and bitched to others. Eventually though, I knew that I had to talk to you, and tell you how much I hated the way things were changing, and it was hard for me to do so. I knew that you would think I was mad at you, when it wasn't that at all.. Thank you for listening to me, and for understanding what I meant, and thank you for helping to keep it special for me. It meant so much to me to hear that when you took the girls last weekend, that you didn't take them on the new rides , and instead waited for me. Also, thanks for assuring me that you didn't intend on us going with your friends all summer long, I was worried about that.

I was a little excited about the thought of going with you and the girls today in some ways, and then in others I wasn't sure I really wanted to go, but then the weather changed all that anyway.. and when we couldn't go, I realized that I really did want to go, that figures huh. I was so glad when you and Sherry decided to come over and hang out for the day like you did. I really was surprised when you called and said you guys were on your way, and I was more than a little happy to see you all. Later, when I looked out and saw that the weather had improved some, I was only half serious when I said we should go to great america for a couple of hours, but your excitement made the thought of going even more appealing. I am just sorry that Chrissy didn't want to go with us, but it was fun, going with you and June. Going on Superman was awesome, and watching you get excited over all the rides really was cool. The best part was, that because of the crummy weather all day, the place was so empty, and in the 2 hours that we were there, we were able to go on 6 rollercoasters, and that was so awesome.

Maybe though, that wasn't the best part...maybe the best part was that you taught me tonight that Change doesn't always have to be bad, and that if we keep talking about our feelings that we can work these things out. I look forward to spending more time at great america this summer with you and the girls. Tonight you showed me that it doesn't take away from it being special, but instead adds to it. Thank you.

I love you, Vicki

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image