Current Archives About Me Host Design

A Wonderful Surprise
07-17-2002,

A Wonderful Surprise...

July 17, 2002

The monsters are here! The monsters are here!!! And they are staying until Sunday, woo hoo. I didn't even think that I would see them for a few weeks, so this has been a wonderful day full of wonderful surprises. It all began when I was talking to my mom about this weekend, and I asked her when Dad was working. She said that he isn't, that it turned up that he had the weekend off after all. I asked her if she wanted to wait to paint until next weekend then, and she seemed to want to. She told me that it was up to me, whatever I wanted to do. I talked to Stephen about it, and since we will probably have a birthday party for Eric (our nephew) on Sunday (remember, Michelle never calls until the last minute).. he said, why don't you go next weekend, and give mom and dad some time together anyway. They like to spend the weekends together, and in the summer, my dad works them a lot (he is a police officer and works downtown, so he ends up having to work alot of the weekend activities).

Anyway, I decided to stay home this weekend. Then we were talking and I said that maybe we should go to Great America this weekend. I hate that his mom paid so much for our season passes, and we haven't even used them. I knew that his cousin George and his family were going this weekend too, so I thought if he could call them to see if they wanted to meet up that he might want to go (Stephen is not the biggest fan, but he does like to go occasionally). He thought it was a great idea and asked if we should see if the girls wanted to go (since they haven't used their pass yet either, lol). So I called Sherry to see if I could take them, and she said sure, but to give Chuck a call and make sure it was okay with him. So I did.. and he said of course.. then he asked me when I wanted to get them.. I said, Friday after work ok? He teased and said he would drop them off tonight.. which I said, I would love that.. lol. We joked back and forth about it a minute, but he knows how much I love having them, and he said, if you are sure, I will bring them. WOO HOO!!!! So they are here, and I am beyond thrilled. Things worked out so awesomely, how cool.

We had a really nice dinner with Stephen's parents tonight too. We usually go on Thursdays, but they are going out tomorrow and invited us over tonight. Mom made ribs, yum. We stopped and got a cake from our favorite bakery to bring over too, and boy was that yummy. I don't even feel guilty about it.. nope.. I have really learned to enjoy my treats over the past few months, since I don't have them as often. I really appreciate my food now, what a difference from just shovelling it in. I have been working out each day and then going for a walk at night too, so I think that a few treats here and there are well deserved.

We got home and were waiting for the girls to come. I was going to let Chrissy go for my walk with me, but they were late, and Stephen could tell that I wanted to go, so he told me to go ahead. I had a great walk and stopped to talk to my friend Kim on the way back since they were sitting outside. The girls and Stephen were about to go looking for me when I got home, lol. I was just down the block, snicker. It's been a nice night though, and now the girls are laying in bed watching Snow dogs and I am writing this and going to go to bed. The girls did my sit ups with me, and we had so much fun doing that. We were goofing around afterwards just cracking up and doing silly things. Boy, I am in a great mood tonight, hehe. Okay it's late.. as usual.. bed time for me (yah right, I try I really do...but it doesn't seem to work).

Daily Tidbits

  1. I tried to go to bed early last night, as I wrote in my journal, but well, Stephen was pretty succesful in detaining me.. hmmm, it was in a great way, giggle... and I am glad he did.
  2. The night before I stayed up late watching The Pride of the Yankees.. OMG, what a wonderful movie. I loved it so much and just couldn't go to sleep, even at 1:30 when my eyes were so tired.. I am glad I stayed up to finish it.. I was totally bawling at the end. If you haven't seen it, check it out.. and oldie.. but wow, great one.
  3. My MIL was telling me tonight that she has gotten a few calls since the picnic, and everyone keeps telling her how great her daughter in law looked, hehe.. that would be me. That made me feel really good, especially with how down about it I had been lately.
  4. Chrissy totally loves putting her arms around me now. She says that she couldn't reach all the way around before but now she can and then some, and she loves seeing how much more. June can hold her hands when she hugs me now too, and that just thrills them. I don't mind, especially when it means getting lots of extra hugs.
  5. Speaking of hugs, I am off to get tons of them, and then to bed. They are all laughing so hard watching snow dogs. We bought it (a previewed copy from the video store for 2 bucks, can't rent it for that) the other day, and Stephen and I watched it Friday night before bed. Stephen was laughing soooo hard too.. it's such a cute movie. There is another one to see if you haven't seen it.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image