Current Archives About Me Host Design

It's Been A Real Treat
10-30-2002, 3:24 p.m.

It�s Been a Real Treat...
A Dear X Collaboration

October 30, 2002

Dear Tonya,

When I saw the topics for this month�s Dear X collaboration, my first thought was to write about Halloween, and something to do with �trick or treating�� seeing as those were the two topics of the month, but as I thought about what I wanted to write about, and to whom I wanted to write it, an idea struck me, regarding the word treat. One of the biggest treats in my life this year has been the amount of time we�ve been able to spend together, our little fab four, and I would like to take this opportunity to tell you, and what better way to do it, what an absolute treat these past couple of years have been. Meeting you, getting to know you better, and mostly, all the time we have managed to spend together. It�s been a real treat having you in my life, and it�s a treat that will continue for a long time to come.

I know how you are feeling about your upcoming move to Hawaii. It�s such a wonderful opportunity for you, and yet I know that you are a little bit worried about the people you are leaving behind, and that you are often wondering how it will change things in your relationships. Tonya, while I can�t pretend to know what will happen with a lot of things in the future, I can say with all certainty that for us, the distance will change nothing at all. If I wanted to be honest, I would have to say that sometimes I get scared too, and that I wish that you would come and tell us that it was all a trick, that you aren�t really moving so far away, but as Jen often says, the time is going to go by quickly, and you will be back closer to us before you know it, only with a lot of wonderful memories from Hawaii, and how awesome is that. Another thing that I am totally sure of is that we are all going to do whatever we can to find the possibilities of visiting with each other while you are gone. No, it won�t be as easy to do so, but c�mon, do you really think that we won�t try. I think that we�ve already shown that we are willing to do what it takes to plan vacations together. But even if we don�t, it still would not change a thing. I love you Tonya, and I consider you someone who will always be in my life. I am so lucky to have you as a friend, and I know that. It�s not something that I would let go of just because of a little distance.

We have email, and we can still chat often.. we have phones, and we will call each other (at least until our husbands are tired of the phone bills, hehe, but even that won�t stop us will it?), and after my entry the other day about the little things that mean so much, I think that I might even try writing real letters and sending them. Okay, I said *try*, give me a break here, hehe. There are so many things that we can do to keep in touch, and to stay in contact, and I have no doubt that we will make the effort to do those things, all of us.. I know how important it is to each of us. And when you do move back somewhere more close to us, think of how much we will appreciate the opportunity to get together more often again. It will mean more somehow, because we will know what it�s like not to have that chance so easily. Sometimes I think we got spoiled by how often we�ve been able to see each other over the past year, but then again, I wouldn�t change it for the world.

I know that it�s harder for you sometimes, knowing that Jen, Cory and I are so close in proximity, and that we are able to see each other whenever the mood strikes. I know that you wish that you had the same chances to do just that. You handle it well though, and that impresses me. I guess, truth be told, I wouldn�t want to be the one who is so far away, but again, it changes nothing. I know how I feel about you, and I know how Jen and Cory both feel about you, and I know what a great group we are when we are together, and I just can�t see anything getting in the way of that. All is well my dear friend, so worry about nothing.

Enjoy this time in your life. Truth be told, I am a little envious. What a wonderful opportunity you have, to spend 4 years in such an amazing place. Take advantage of that, and don�t miss a thing. Man, now talk about being mad at you.. if you don�t take every chance you get to do things that you wouldn�t be able to do elsewhere, I will hunt you down, hehe. Seriously, I want you to be so happy there, and I really believe that you will be. Don�t worry about the friendships you have.. you are not leaving us behind, you are just going a little further in distance, not in heart� we are here loving you, and will always will be. As I said Tonny, It�s been such a treat knowing you, and spending time with you, and I am grateful for all that we�ve had� I look forward to what the next few years will bring, but I am not worried.. I know that four years from now, we will be throwing you a welcome back party.. and wondering what we were so concerned about.

I love you!
Vicki

leave a comment
1 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image