Current Archives About Me Host Design

Retirement Pary
01-20-2003, 9:58 a.m.

I had every intention of writing an entry last night when we got home, but the truth is, my head was hurting so bad that just the thought of looking at a computer screen was enough to send me running to throw up. I had such a horrible migraine, that came on yesterday afternoon and only progressed as the evening wore on. We had a retirement party to go to, and while I was sorely tempted to send Stephen without me, I really wanted to go, and so I forced myself to suck it up and deal with it. Now, had I known that they were going to have a very loud-live band there, I might have had other thoughts.

The party was for Mr. B., who lives next door to Stephen's parents, and has for the past 32 years. He is a friend of the family, and a good all around person. His children are the same ages at Stephen and his siblings, so they spent a lot of time together as they were growing up. Stephen's whole family went, minus Delores and John and they are in Florida (at Disney) so it would have been pretty hard for them to go. They did send a cute little representative though, one who kept me on my toes most of the evening. Katelynn is giving grams and pops a run for their money, so I decided to help out and keep her company until her other aunts and uncles arrived. Only once they did arrive, Katelynn decided that she was more than happy to hang out with Aunt Vicki for the night, and so aside from brief moments (you know, potty breaks, and the such), she pretty much hung out with me. Now it might sound like I am complaining, but that would be far from the reality of my bragging. I was totally thrilled that she wanted to come back to me everytime anyone took her for a few moments. She is such a cutie. She is 10 months now, and she is starting to walk, and is just a lot of fun. I really was happy to give Liz a little break and allow her time to visit with old friends.

It was a birthday/retirement party, and it was a surprise for Mr. B. I was so glad that I decided to go, it really seemed to mean so much to him to have everyone there. He must have told me 20 times how much it meant to him that we came. Besides, aside from my headache, I really did have a great time. I got to visit with some friends that we hadn't seen in a long time, and I got to see some really cute pictures of Stephen. They had all these picture boards with old pictures on there, and since Stephen and Delores grew up doing a lot with Jackie and Denise, there were tons of pictures of all of them. They were adorable, and Stephen was such a cutie when he was growing up. Okay, I happen to still think he is.

The only thing that I didn't like about last night was the time. Who has a party like this on a Sunday from 6:30-11:30. Sheesh, I realize he is retired now, but some of us still have to get up for work. We stayed until about 9, and by then Katelynn was exhausted so we got her ready to leave. We dropped Stephen's parents off at home, and I carried Katelynn in and put her to bed for them. She had fallen asleep about 30 seconds after we left the party. By the time we made it back home ourselves, my head felt like it was about to explode. It was all I could do to get into my jammies and crawl in bed. Oh, I did stop to call Tonny to rub it in that she lost our bet though, hehe.. way to go Raiders!!! Let's win this thing, hehe.

Stephen had taped the Raiders game on TiVo and he wanted to watch it, so I set that up for him, but the noise was really bothering me, so I got a cold rag and went to lay on the futon and fell asleep in there. I had the stangest dreams all night long, but at least I slept. Stephen woke me up when the alarm went off and I went and had a good workout which helped my lingering headache for a while, but it's starting to really creep back now... Ugh, I think that I am going to have to give in and have some coffee, although I was hoping to avoid that, as I've been pretty addicted to coffee lately... it's Tonya's fault, I absolutely LOVE hawaiian coffee.. I am addicted, hehe, and I am not sure I want to fight it either. Good thing the raiders just won me a new supply, giggle.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image