Current Archives About Me Host Design

And the Winner is
01-22-2001,

And the Winner is...

January 22, 2001

Did you watch the Golden Globes last night? That seems to be the question that I have heard the most today, and it is only 7:30 in the morning. No, I didn't, and why do you look shocked? I had other things to do. I mean, honestly, I do appreciate actors and actress', and their contribution to our lives. I do enjoy a good movie, and I do get the most of our televisions at home, but does that mean I have to watch award shows, or know who had tbe best outfits and all that jazz? Don't get me wrong, I have been known to spend a few hours watching these things, but no, I did not watch them last night. That being said...

I had a wonderful weekend. It really was a nice one, relaxing and fun all rolled into one. Okay, so the relaxing part came early on. Friday, we went home, and had a "eat when you want, what you want" kind of dinner, and just relaxed most of the evening. Okay, I admit, I spent hours in front of the computer playing SimThemePark, but that was relaxing right? Well, it was, at least until my butt got numb from sitting there. I so need to get a nice computer chair (making a mental note of that, I tend to forget that I need one, until my butt gets numb at least). We spent the remainder of the evening cuddling, as we watched one of my all time favorite movies. Saturday morning was another time of relaxation...Stephen was supposed to help his brother move some furniture for their cousin, but by some small miracle, they called and cancelled. The funny part was that when the phone rang, Stephen yelled out, hope that is Kevin cancelling, and it was. Hmmm, how come my hopes don't always come true that easily? That would be nice.

We had a nice time Saturday evening. Okay, we had a great time. We had dinner at Sherry and Chucks apartment, with them and the girls. It was just pizza, but the company was wonderful. Oh, and Sherry had a little gift for me. They bought for me the movie, The Outsiders, on DVD. My very favorite movie since I was a teenager. Sherry and I one time taped the whole movie onto a cassette, and would just listen to it over and over. Needless to say, I can still recite most of the lines, and it drives Stephen nuts when we watch it. The ironic part was... this was the movie we watched the night before. Timing is everying they say. I was very appreciative of this gift, and it will get much use. It does take me back a bit though, to when Sherry and I were younger, and used to play "teen-agers" and fight over who got to be "Soda-pop Curtis'" girlfriend in our game. Ah the simplicity of life when you are 12.

After dinner, we all crammed into Chuck's truck and headed to the Wolves game. Have I mention just how much I enjoy doing that? Going to the games.. not cramming into Chuck's truck (Hey, why pay to park 2 cars...). What a great game it turned out to be. Okay, the wolves lost, in OT, but it was still an awesome game, and it was the first that we have taken Chrissy and Bugs to. They seemed to enjoy it, Chrissy a little more than June, but she is still young. There is time. They did love "Skates" though.. and they are lucky, cause I LOVE SKATES!!!

Skates is the mascott of the Wolves and he is just so awesome, if you ask me. He is great... oh I already said that didn't I, LOL. Seriously though, the Wolves do a lot of crowd pleaser stuff, and Skates goes out into the crowd, and does fun stuff with them, or during the period breaks, he is on the ice dancing, and tossing t-shirts into the crowd. So everytime we go to a game, I tell Stephen, I need to bring a big sign that says "WE LOVE YOU SKATES" and he thinks it is so cute how excited I get about it all. So anyway, and there is a point to this story, I promise... at Saturday's game they were giving away Wendell Young (the goalie) bobblehead dolls to the first 5000 fans.. and they gave you a voucher as you walked in the door to pick them up during the game. Well we decided to beat the crowd and went to pick ours up right after the fire and laser show they have at the beginning of each game. We started to go, but when we got a little ways, for some reason, I told Sherry to wait and I ran back to get my camera... Gotta take it with me, never know when you would need it. We had to walk all the way around the arena to get them, but we were talking and laughing and having a great time. Well I was walking, sorta looking backwards at Sherry, and when I turned around, who was standing right in front of me?? SKATES!! I screamed... SKATESSSS, and he gave me a high five. Then Sherry said "Last week was her birthday and we were here looking for you" and he blew me a kiss, which was so sweet. So then as he is walking a way, it hit me... why didn't I get a picture with him???? I said so to Sherry to, and she grabs my camera bag and says, let's go, and starts running after him. It was so funny, you would think we were little kids chasing after this mascott, but it was so much fun, and I never laughed so much. Well, we did catch up with him, as he was going into the crowd, but he saw us and came back, and posed for a picture. It was the highlight of my night, and I still get excited when I think about it. I am going to take that roll of film in to the 1 hour photo tonight, if I get a chance... so maybe I can share it here tomorrow. As I said, it was a great game...even Sherry was really into it, and she is usally more reserved at these things. We all had a blast. After the game, we drove back to their apartment with them, to get our car, and then we ended up taking the girls home with us. It was late, and they were already asleep by the time we got home (they live about 45 minutes from us), and we had to carry them into bed, but it was still nice knowing that they were there.

While we were at the game, Sherry and Chuck said something that really made me cry. They said "Hey look, I bet Chrissy and June are the only kids here with 4 parents". It was a wonderful thing for them to say, and it really acknowledged what we are in the girls lives. It was a nice acknowledgement, and it meant so very much to me. I guess that I have been starting to wonder what my life will be like if we can't have our own children, and it really does make it easier, knowing that we have at least been so much in their lives. We have been blessed with them. Maybe for some people it would not be enough, but as much as I do want my own children, I am grateful for being so much to them. I have been thinking on this subject a lot lately, especially with the fact that I have an RE appointment today. Oh, but I so do not want to go....

Sunday was a great day too, although I did spend many hours of it in my car. The girls and I got up a little later than I wanted to, so I had to rush a little to get them showered and dressed and then myself as well. Stephen had his weekly basketball game, so he crawled out of bed, and left... and we headed out for the day. First we drove the 45 minutes to pick up Sherry, and then another 45 to my mom's house. We left the girls with my dad, who was kind enough to offer to babysit, and we took my mom and gram with us. What a trade, I am certain that we got the better end of that deal, LOL. What a nice "girls" day we had. First we went out to lunch, which was really very nice. The conversation was great, and I really enjoyed the time with my mom and gram. They were so cute too when I said I was paying for lunch... I didn't hear the end of it all day about how wonderful I am... hmmm, another mental note, pay for lunch more often, giggle.

After lunch, we headed to Cory's house for her Candle party. I was a little bit nervous, because I would be meeting some of her friends who I have heard so much about over the past few months, but it was nice and we had a great time. It is always nice to be able to spend time with Cory, but this time we didn't get to talk too much or really spend time together, so luckily we are going to get together this Friday, and then we can really talk and stuff.

After the party, we went shopping a little bit, and then I took my mom and gram home. We stayed for a while, visiting with my dad and grampa, and then it was time to go.. Another 2 hours in the car, taking Sherry and the girls home, and then heading home myself, with a quick stop at the grocery store. I was exhausted when I got home, and luckily Stephen cooked us a nice dinner, and then we kinda just hung out until it was time for bed. It was a great weekend, and I was sorry to see it end. But as we all know... they do end, and too quickly if you ask me.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image