Current Archives About Me Host Design

Strange Occurances
01-22-2003, 2:31 p.m.

I don�t know what the heck happened to me last night, but it was just the strangest thing. I was fine when I went to sleep, no aches or pains at all. Half way thru the night I was having a strange dream, about my foot, and I remember that whatever it was about, it was pretty painful. Only, I guess it wasn�t totally a dream, because I woke up, and became very aware of some pain in one of my toes. It was very strong pain, it felt like it was on fire. I got up and looked, and my toe was swollen and red, and the pain was so very horrible. I took a prescription strength ibuprofen and got back into bed. I couldn�t figure out what would cause something like this to happen, but I figured that I couldn�t do anything about it until morning anyway. The pain got worse, and I could feel my pulse in that leg, my whole foot was throbbing and the pain was shooting. Eventually, the ibuprofen started dulling the pain, and I was able to go to sleep again, but it was so strange. When I woke up with the alarm, I got up to go workout, but my toe was still quite tender and painful, so I decided to wait and go workout tonight. I didn�t want to walk on the treadmill if it still felt that way, and while it did feel better than it did in the middle of the night, I just felt like the smart thing to do would be to wait and see what happened with it. I figured if it got bad again, I would just call my doctor today.

Well it is doing much better now. It still feels tender, and while it�s not as swollen or red as it was, you can still see it a little bit. If I touch it, it feels really sore, but it�s no where near as painful as it was. It�s getting much better as the day goes on. I tell you though, it was such a strange experience, unlike anything I�ve ever experienced before. I told my boss about it, to see if he had any ideas, and at first, he said, gout.. that is how I feel when my gout acts up.. but when he asked to see my toe, he said, no, it would be further back by the joint� but he said that it could have been some infection, or I could have gotten bitten by something and didn�t realize it. He said that I shouldn�t worry about it, unless it gets worse or happens repeatedly, that it is probably just one of those things. It�s kinda scary though when something like that happens, and you don�t have any clue why.

So now I need to go workout tonight. I haven�t gone to workout at night in a while now, so that is going to feel really different, but in a way it�s not a bad thing either. It�s good to mix things up sometimes, and plus, I wanted to get my eyebrows waxed anyway, and that is right next door to the gym, so I can get that done at the same time, hehe. Plus, when I workout at night, I don�t have to watch the time as much, so if I am on a good grove, I can do a little more. I think that it was nice working out in the mornings when I was so busy at night, but now that things have calmed down somewhat, I think that it would be okay to do some evenings. I would rather do mostly mornings because it is nice to have it done for the day, but let�s face it, some mornings it is just really nice to sleep a little later.

I had been doing horrible with my food choices. I say had, because I really was determined to have a good day today, and so far it�s been a great day. I tell you, it is so easy to get off track and so much harder to get back on track. I really want to lose some more weight though, instead of this sitting still thing that I�ve been doing for months� so I really need to get myself moving on this. I know that I am going to okay, if I can just get back to where I was.. and once I start losing again, I will find the motivation that has been in such short supply. Cory and I have decided that we are going to start meeting on Saturday mornings to swim again, and I am so excited about that, because we really saw such results the last time we did that consistently. Swimming is a great exercise, and I think that it�s going to kick start us again. I can�t wait to start. Plus, it�s nice to see her every Saturday morning too. Swimming laps can be so boring when you are by yourself, but when you do it with someone else the times just really seems to fly by. I was thinking that I should start going occasionally after work too, the nights that Stephen has to work late. I don�t know why I got out of that habit, but once I started going to W3, I stopped doing anything here at work. Here is a funny tidbit� I haven�t worked out here at work in so long that I don�t remember my locker combinations. I am going to have to borrow a lock cutter to get into my lockers.. nice, lol. Thankfully they have one in Stephen�s department, because the students are always forgetting their combinations. Man, I wish I could remember them, but try as I might, it�s just not coming to me. Funny, I used to work out here so much, I could open them in my sleep. Not anymore, apparently. Good thing, I don�t use a locker at W3� I just take my stuff every day. I wonder just what I left in my lockers here, hmmm. Now that could be interesting.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image