Current Archives About Me Host Design

Crushing Loss
01-26-2003, 10:55 p.m.

Stephen is so very sad tonight because his beloved team lost. I felt so bad for him, because I know how much he wanted them to win, and while I didn't care either way, I would have liked to see him excited because they did win. I remember watching the wolves win, and I remember watching them lose the cup the year before, and it was so hard that loss, so I guess I am saying that I can imagine how he feels.

So aside from the Raiders losing, we had a wonderful time tonight. No bad situations like last year. It was just a very nice time, spent with people that we care about very much. This was our fouth annual superbowl party and already I am looking forward to next years. Let's see, Jen got here before everyone else (which is totally expected with Miss early to everything Jen, giggle, I wouldn't have it any other way). She brought stuff to make, so we sat and talked while she worked on it all. Cory and Jim got here shortly after she did. I was so excited because this was their first year coming. Their time is so in demand, that they are already booked for next year's superbowl, I guess you have to book them a few years in advance now, hehe. I am really so glad that they came though, it was so nice having them here.

Stephen's brother, Kevin, arrived next, with the four kids. Nicole had to work, so she came a little later. I got my hands on Kathleen right away, of course, but I had to finish cooking so I had to hand her off. Stephen's cousin George got there next, with his wife Kelly, and their kids. We had invited Stephen's other cousin Terry too (she has come the past few years), but her youngest boy has scarlet fever, and while the doctor said he was past being contagious, she didn't want to take any chances on him spreading it around. I was sorry that she couldn't make it, but I certainly understood and agreed with her. Besides, we had enough people as it was. Everything was great, the food turned out wonderful, and everything that Jen and Cory brought was so yummy (thank you again, so much, Cory and Jen, I really appreciate all that you did).

The game was good, although not for Stephen. You can imagine how heartbreaking it was for him to see his team lose. But I guess that is just the way it goes sometimes. He will get over it, hehe.

The best part of the night? Watching how exciting Cory got during the final 2 seconds of the game. You see, Jim won 500.00 on the game, woo hoo, and his number didn't come thru until the interception that was run back for a touchdown with 2 seconds to go. I was really thrilled for them, I can't believe that they won, that is just way too awesome (Congrats you two, you deserve it). Cory won our question game too, tonight, yay Cory! It was a good night for them.

Stephen and I have cleaned most of the house (well aside from doing the dishes, but that can wait for tomorrow, I am so exhausted). I have to be into work early early tomorrow for an exam, but we are waiting up for Stephen's cousin George to come back. Kelly forgot her purse here, oops, so he is coming to pick it up. I feel bad cause they live about 45 minutes away, so that was a pretty big oops for them. Then it is definitely time for me to go to sleep, it really has been a long day. I got up early to clean, shop and cook, and I feel like I've been on the go non-stop ever since. It is hard having parties, but it is so much fun, and I am glad we do it every year. I hope my team gets into the superbowl next year... lol, yah right, that's not going to happen. Hey they may be bums, but I still claim them as my team. I guess we have to love our teams, win or lose. Stephen will remember that once the sadness of them losing goes away. Well, I guess I will go console him some more, hehe.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image