Current Archives About Me Host Design

Rant for the Day
01-26-2005, 12:46 p.m.

I was just reading about this. If you hadn't seen it, seems a man in California decided to take his own life today, and he positioned his SUV on train tracks. Only at the last second, he decided that he didn't want to die, and he jumped out of the vehicle, leaving it there on the tracks, causing this destruction.

10 people died today and more than 200 more were hurt, because this man wanted to take his own life and then didn't. This is appaling! This man then stood and watched as the train hit his vehicle, thus killing innocent people. I am just sitting here in a rage thinking about these poor people who died, and even more so their families. There are so many senseless deaths every day in our world and I often times sit and ponder how senseless they are, but for some reason this one has really made me stop and think today.

I think that killing yourself is horrible to begin with. What in the world could be so horrible that you would need to take your own life. I am sure that there are many things, but if you die, they cannot get better, and you will never know if they could have. I look at all the horrible things that have happened in my own life, or the lives of my loved ones, and while they may have been horrible at the time, they don't always seem quite as bad after time passes. By killing yourself, you might be ending your own pain and suffering but you are only increasing the pain and suffering of so many people... people who love you. I think that suicide is the most cowardly thing a person can do. But to decide to do it, and then in a manner in which you are putting hundreds of other people at risk is the most horrible thing of all. Those people who died, didn't want to die.. their lives were not horrible, and to take their lives because your own life is not perfect is just wrong. My heart goes out to those people, their families, friends, and everyone who knew them. My heart goes out to the family of the man who did this, they didn't deserve this either... noone does.

Okay, I don't know why I went on and on, but I guess that it was something that really struck me today, and I wanted to go on and on. So there ya go, my rant for the day. If you disagree with anything I said, just remember that this is my journal and leave it at that. I am entitled :)

leave a comment
3 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image