Current Archives About Me Host Design

My Superhero
01-31-2001,

My Superhero...

January 31, 2001

Today, my superhero turned 11. 11 years old...how can that sound so young, and yet sound so old at the same time? When he was 2, Kevin used to sing the song from the Disney Movie, Sleeping Beauty.. the one that goes "I know you, I walked with you once upon a dream", and whenever he would sing it, he would tell me, "That's your song Aunt Bicki". I used to love when he would sing it to me, but then I loved almost everything that kid did. We were very close (and still are). One of my favorite memories of Kevin though, was the time that he was "protecting" me from Stephen, who was pretending to be a monster that was going to gobble our feet. When I thanked him for protecting me, he said "I have to protect you Aunt Bicki, I am your superhero". It was the sweetest thing, and it stuck. He would always remind me "I am your superhero, remember", and I would always get this warm fuzzy feeling when he said it. As he got older, he would be off playing with the boys, instead of hanging around with me, so I didn't hear it as much, and while it was sad... I always had my memories of it... Then last year, we took all the kids to Navy Pier to the haunted ship for halloween... and I teased him and asked him "Are you scared"? as we were waiting to go in, and he said no, are you? I laughed and said yup.. to which he replied "Don't worry, I will protect you, I am your superhero you know". Oh, what a wonderful thing to hear. And now, he has started reminding me every so often, like when we were in the dells this summer and about to go on a scary slide. It is just amazing how you can love all your nieces and nephews so much and yet have these very special things that mean so much to you with certain ones. Kevin will always be special to me, because he will always be my superhero.

Happy Birthday My Superhero....

**************

I am feeling somewhat better today. Isn't it funny how when you are first getting sick and let's say you feel like 50% sick, and that is just awful... but then when you've been sooo sick and you are starting to get better feeling 50% sick is just so wonderful. Okay, maybe that doesn't make sense, but think about it and maybe you will figure out what I mean. In other words, I still feel as sick as I did when I first started getting sick, but I feel so much better than I did the past few days that it is a much improved feeling. Hopefully I will be at 100% soon.

Sherry has a job interview tomorrow with Allstate. My mom has been trying to get her a job there for so long, and Sherry is so very excited. I am excited for her too.. but I have to admit that part of it is a very selfish reason. See, they are talking about moving even further away from Stephen and I than they live already, and if Sherry gets the Allstate job, well it's closer, and so they wouldn't move so far then. In fact, they might end up moving a little bit closer that way. Selfish maybe, but I don't want to be further from Chrissy and June than I already am. And besides, it would be so much more money and benefits for Sherry, Chuck and the kids, and it would make their lives so much easier. I so pray that her interview goes well tomorrow and that she gets the job.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image