Current Archives About Me Host Design

Hearts and Flowers
02-14-2001,

Hearts and Flowers...

February 14, 2001

Happy Valentine's Day!!!

What a wonderful day this has been so far. Can I just say that my Stephen can be so sweet when he tries to be. He really threw me off this year too. He has been moaning about not having any money, and how he can't wait until payday this week (which is tomorrow, thank goodness, LOL), and how my gift might be a day late. Then today, he came and asked me, "which one is the Credit card that I use" (because he always get's confused between his CC and the CC that comes directly from our checking account), so I really thought that he was just now trying to do something for me for Valentines Day.... Thennnn just a few minutes later, I got flowers from him....awwwww (He usually neveeeeerrr sends flowers, he always just goes out and buys them and brings them home). He also got me a HUGE box of candy... a big red heart... Fannie May too, yum...(so much for the few pounds I have lost recently, lol) and a balloon. I was so excited with it all. Not that I need him to buy me things to make it a special day, but it is just so much fun. Especially to have it all sitting on my desk looking pretty and making me happy, giggle. I have this huge smile on my face today that just won't go away. I can't believe how great things have been with Stephen and I lately. We have been getting along wonderfully, and not really fighting much... it's been so nice.

Another really sweet thing that Stephen did this year, really touched me more than anything else that he could have done. See, we both work for the same university. I love working with him. We work in the same building but we are in different departments, so there are days that I don't see him the whole day except for lunch, but then there are days when I seem to see him constantly. It's nice to be able to run down the hall when I want to talk to him, and it's really nice to be able to spend lunch with him every day. The one thing though, is that he is not very affectionate at work. He hates to show affection at work for some reason... he won't hold my hand if we are walking somewhere and hugs and kisses, forget it...they are very rare while we are here. Well, there is a point to this story, I promise... Every year the students, as a fund-raiser, sell flowers for Valentine's Day. They sell them the week before Valentines Day, and then send little cards to everyone who has flowers to pick up on V-Day. Well since Stephen really gets to know the students (he works in the Anatomy lab, and spends a lot of time with them), so he never goes to buy flowers from them for me, because like I said before he is not affectionate at work. I used to be sad, but I always understood. We have both been working here for 10 years now, so I have long gotten over this. Well imagine my surprise yesterday, when I got a card telling me that I had flowers to pick up (I do usually get one or two every year from my boss, and our other faculty members), but when I read the card and it was from Stephen, I wanted to cry. I know how much it means for him to do this here at work... so I got to go pick up flowers today from him... awww, on top of the other flowers I got.. I hope he knows how happy he makes me.

He did ask me if he could take me out to dinner tonight, but of course all of our favorite places are already booked up... so I offered to make him a nice dinner, but he said that he doesn't want me having to do anything tonight, so left-over chinese is what we are having... Hehe... it doesn't matter, I will just love being with him, as always.

~~~~~~

Today is our Nephew Jake's 11th Birthday. I always thought it was neat that he had a Valentine's birthday, but Stephen said he will hate it when he gets older since he will have to buy his girlfriends gifts on his birthday, LOL. What a man way of thinking. I still can't believe that he is turning 11 though. I still close my eyes and picture him as a baby..what a cutie he was/is. He is such a good boy too, kind, considerate, smart, friendly... all the good things. We are so proud of him. He really looks out for his younger siblings too. A great kid all around. He is Stephen's oldest god-child and his only god-son, so they are pretty close. Stephen is so proud of that kid.

I called Michelle (my SIL) last night to see what she was doing for his birthday. She is soooo funny, she is such a last minute person, and you usually have to call her to find out what is going on. We all laugh about that, but you just accept it for what it is. Heck, if I had 5 kids under the age of 11 like she does, I would probably go out of my mind. She usually has everyone over for dinner on V-day for his birthday (which is why we waited so long to make a reservation at a restaurant tonight, since we thought we might be going there), but she decided to have everyone over for dinner after my Pampered Chef party on Sunday, since Delores and her family will be in from Wisconsin for that. Boy is it going to be a verrryyyy busy weekend. But so much fun too...

~~~~~~~~~

I love seeing how happy everyone is today. Sherry called me this morning on my cell phone when I was on my way to work. She couldn't wait to tell me how sweet Chuck was this morning. It is their first Vday married, and he really was sweet to her.. It was nice to see. And Cory was so excited when Jim stopped to visit her with a long stem rose. Valentine's Day is such a cute holiday. I love it...

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image