Current Archives About Me Host Design

Out Like a Light
02-20-2001,

Out Like a Light...

February 20, 2001

Today has been a strange day to say the least. Stephen and I got to work at 7:15 this morning. He had to give an exam this morning, and I was happy to get in early because I still have lots to do to get ready for our exams later this week. So, I got right to work.

At about 10 minutes before 8, the electricity went out in most of the building. My office didn't go out though, which was sooooo strange. The hallways were filled with Students who were getting ready to go into the labs (which are across the hall from my office) to take their exam, and they kept coming into my office to ask how in the heck I managed that. Don't ask me, I felt like I was in the twightlight zone. It didn't last long, and about 10 minutes later I was in the dark with everyone else. It was a mad dash to find a place where this group of students could take their exam. Our university consists of 5 colleges, each of which have finals this week, so it was a tough one, but we were finally able to send this group to the cafeteria to take their exam. In the meantime, maintenance was busy trying to find out what the problem was, and security was busy kicking the rest of us out of the building. They were certain that we were without lights for the day, and telling everyone to just go home.

It wasn't to be for us though... Stephen still had to stay to proctor his exam, and I just sat and talked to him and the secretary of his department, and the rest of the faculty from his department. They were supposed to have a 2nd exam this afternoon, one that couldn't be moved, as it was a practical, and they need the cadavers in the gross lab to do the exam. Could you see them wheeling 30 cadavers across campus? Eek. They rescheduled it for Thursday.

So we got to leave to come home about 11:00 this morning, and it's been a nice afternoon so far. I made us a nice lunch, and now I am just yakking with Jen and thinking how nice a nap would be, giggle.

They are not even sure if we will have electricity tomorrow. I sure hope so, or we are pretty screwed....I don't even have our exams finished... eeekkk....

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image