Current Archives About Me Host Design

In Like a Lion...Out Like a Lamb
03-01-2001,

In Like a Lion...Out Like a Lamb...

March 1, 2001

I cannot believe that it is already March. It seems like just yesterday that we were celebrating New Years (tinnnyyy bubbles, giggle.. longgg story, sorry - guess you had to be there). I am so happy that it is March though... it means that Spring is almost here, and Spring is one of my favorite times of the year. I love Fall too, but at this moment, Spring just sounds soooo wonderful. LOL.

I am having a good day today... no wait, a bad day... oh, now a good day... you get the point, LOL. I am fluctuating between good and bad. There is soooo much going on right now at work. A big issue that has everyone up in arms... so I have been soooo busy writing memos for everyone, and doing this and that. See, they put a new boiler unit in for our building and they didn't think as they were doing it, because they put this 3 foot chimney about 3 feet from our air intake for this part of the building. So now, whenever the air starts blowing in our building, we are also getting all the fumes from the boiler unit. The smell is awful... and it smells like sulfur too... A lot of people have been getting sick from it. They are going to fix it in the next day or two, but in the meantime we have a lot of angry people! The thing is that it is only really bad in a few offices in the building and unfortunate for me, mine is one of them. I have a air vent right above my desk and at one point it got soooo bad today. I was actually throwing up today, and I believe it to be from the fumes...and my boss told me to go home, but I decided to stay, since I already am taking half the day off tomorrow for our new carpet to be installed. I have been taking a lot of trips outside though, whenever the smell comes. I cannot wait until this is fixed. Luckily it's not too cold out today, and we have all the windows open, which does alleviate it some. Still I would like to know what moron designed that system? HELLO.. Common sense, buddy.

******************

Another issue has been bothering me a bit. My brother. He came to stay with us last night, for about a month, two at the most, while he looks for a new apartment. Why does this bother me? Well, let's see... in the 9 years that Stephen and I have been married, my siblings have lived with us more than they haven't. In fact, Scott (my brother) stayed with us for 2 months just a few months ago, and my sister Krystal only moved out 2 months ago, after living with us for almost 3 years!!! The past 2 months have been sooo nice, being alone with my husband, and I don't want people to live with us anymore. Is that so much to ask? The problem here is that Stephen and I were both raised to believe in family, and to believe that you don't turn your back on them. So how could we live with ourselves thinking that we left him with no place to go? I did make it clear however that this had to be a temporary solution, and that by May 1st, he needed to have a new place to live. He agreed, so now just to get thru the next 2 months.

The other part of it that bothers me is that when they left 2 months ago, I was very vocal in saying that NOONE was going to live with us again, and now I feel like I look like a fool to the friends that I said it to. When we had said it to Stephen's brother Kevin, he laughed at me and said, uh huh... and now here I have to admit, you were right! I hate being wrong!!! I hate that I care so much about people... I hate that I am so soft. Scott, I love him, so much.. he is my brother... but he is selfish and self-centered too. He never calls me unless he needs something. It's not like I wouldn't want to be closer to him, but it seems like the only time he cares if we are close or not is when he needs a place to stay. Maybe that is unfair of me to say, but it's how I feel. Oh well... May will be here soon, right???

****************

Tomorrow we are having our new carpet installed. Gosh, I can't believe how excited I am about that. I have hated the carpet in this house since we moved in 6 years ago, LOL. Took me long enough to get new stuff, didn't it? Well, no more waiting... tomorrow!!! We picked out a pretty carpet that I think I will love. The color is called pine knot. It is a very pretty brown. Stephen was adament that we go with brown. Me, I would have loved to have a pretty blue carpet... but there was no way to convince him of that. At least I like the color we agreed on in the end.

Then tomorrow night, Sherry and the girls are going to come spend the night. They are missing Chuck (he went to New York for his aunt's funeral). So they are going to come spend some time with Stephen and I. I am glad. Saturday is *Couples Night* too... YAYYYYYYY. I will write more on that one later, as it could probably take up a whole post of it's own. Sunday we have birthday parties for 2 of our nephews... (Jimmy who turned 2 on Feb 26th and his brother Timmy who turns 6 on March 4th)...so many birthdays lately... 3 more to go in March, and then it slows down a little bit... well for a month anyway, LOL.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image