Current Archives About Me Host Design

Mish Mash
03-21-2003, 9:57 p.m.

Tonight we were supposed to go to a surprise birthday party for my brother. He turend 30 earlier in the week (I meant to write about that, but it was the night I fell asleep at 6 and thus I didn't write in my journal that night.. or the next, hehe, I've been so bad this week with writing haven't I?). Well, because of all the anti-war protests going on downtown, both my brother and my dad have been working all day (since 4:00 this morning) and they are still at it, so needless to say the party was cancelled. I worry about them, but it looks like the protests are a little more peaceful than they were last night, so I am sure that they are ok. I still do not understand how people can protest violence with violence and I was dismayed to read today about a police officer being killed in Yemen, during one such protest. I believe in the right to protest, and the right to march for your beliefs, but I don't believe in the right to hurt others to make a point. What point did you make? That you are uneducated idiots basically. I think that it's these reports that make me the saddest in all of this. Especially coming from a family of police officers, it is hard to watch.

One picture that I saw today, was the image of a protestor in Egypt dropping huge rocks (practically boulders) from some balcony onto the police there. First of all, the police are there doing their jobs, and you don't even know what side of the war they are on to begin with. They may very well be against the war too, and yet you are willing to hurt them? I mean, how insane is that. Okay, I just had to rant for a moment.

I was planning to run out at lunch time today to pick up gifts for the birthay party that we are going to tomorrow for Jonathon, Matthew and Katelynn. But since the party tonight was cancelled, I decided to just wait and go tonight. Instead, Stephen and I went out to lunch together, which was very nice. This has been a very stressful time for him at work, and it was nice to get him out of there for a bit, and we enjoyed each other's company very much. We even stopped at the bookstore together before heading back to work. He was looking for a book (he has been very much into philosphy lately, which amazes me) and I was looking for the 3rd book in a series that I've been reading. We have been having lots of fun going to bookstores and the library together lately, so that was fun.

So tonight we we got home, I had to go and get gifts for tomorrow, but I knew what I wanted to get and it didn't really take me too long. I got the cutest outfits for Katelynn.. and an adorable swim suit with a matching robe for her. I can't wait to give them their gifts tomorrow. I certainly cannot believe that Katelynn is going to be 1 already, or that Jonathon is 8, and Matthew 4.. It's amazing how quickly the time goes. I came home and made dinner and wrapped everything up, so we are all ready for tomorrow now, which is a good thing, since we have to leave earlier than I thought. We were supposed to pick Stephen's parents up at 11, but my BIL called tonight to ask if our newphew Kevin could ride with us as well (the rest of them are driving with Dee, because Kevin is going to meet them in Wisconsin later, he has to work.. so they don't have enough room for all of them.. okay long story, hehe), so now we have to go over there to get him... oh wait, scratch that, as I was writing that my MIL called and said that Dee is going to take them to Kevin's so we can pick them all up there, giggle. This is how my night has been one phone call after another changing the plans.. lol. We keep laughing everytime the phone rings. Tomorrow should be a nice day at any rate.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image