Current Archives About Me Host Design

When the Cat's Away
03-27-2001,

When the Cat's Away...

March 27, 2001

The mice will play? My boss is in San Fransisco for the week, at a meeting. I thought that it would be a really easy week, but actually it's been kinda busy. I work for 5 professors, but most of my work comes from our Chairman, Walt. Well, Alex and Mike are leaving for meetings all next week, so they are swamped this week, and have been giving me stuff to do that they usually do themselves. I can't complain though, because it is my job, and I am grateful that they do a lot of it themselves most of the time. I am only too happy to help them during times like this, especially since they are forever telling me how much they appreciate me, and thanking me for all that I do. It's nice to feel appreciated. With Walt gone, however, I have been taking advantage of it and coming in a little bit later, and leaving a little bit earlier, so that is a bonus to it all. And he called today to make sure that everything was going well, and I told him that I was going to take a personal day on Friday, which he was totally okay with.. yippeee... That mouse is away .

*****************

I can't believe this, but I still have so many people coming up to me and talking to me about Ven's memorial service and what I said. I cannot believe what an impact what I said had on the people around me. I am hearing things like "When I heard the things you said, it really touched me, and made me wish that I had taken the time to get to know him even better" and "What you said helped me so much, and helped me to get passed this". I've even had people say what that they never realized what a great public speaker I am.. sheesh, they are way off on that one, but I am glad that I carried myself well on that day. I realize now how important it was that I talked that day, and I am so glad that I did. I only hope that it brought some comfort to Nalini in the process. It's nice how many people are coming to share with me their personal memories now. I love hearing them, and they remind me of things that I had forgotten as well. He is a man that will not be quickly forgotten. That's nice to know.

*****************

Chrissy and June are on Spring Break this week, and Juney is coming tonight to spend the week with us. Chrissy is coming on Thursday. June is sooooo excited about getting to spend some alone time with us, and I really think that she will have a good time hanging out with Stephen tomorrow, and then coming to work with us on Thursday. I love them girls so much, and I love every opportunity that I have to spend time with them like this. I am so glad that Sherry let's us be such a big part of their lives, and I hope she knows how much it means to us...

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image