Current Archives About Me Host Design

Friday the 13th
04-13-2001,

Friday the 13th...

April 13, 2001

I have always loved when the 13th fell on a friday. Where other's might think it was an unlucky thing, I've always thought differently. I think it all goes back to my 13th birthday which happened to fall on Friday the 13th that year. It was my first boy/girl party, and then the girls all spent the night, and we stayed up the whole night watching Friday the 13th movies, and attempting to sneak the boys back in, both of which drove my parents up the wall that night. They remember it a little differently than I do, giggle. Wow, I just thought of something, Chrissy will be 13 next month, and that just seems so young to me, but when I think back to my 13th birthday party, I felt so grown up. How is it that we forget what it's like to be that age when we become older? I remember saying that I would remember what it was like, so that I could be more *understanding* of my children...now I hear Chrissy saying that and I laugh. Funny how life goes in cycles.

Yesterday after work, we went to visit with Stephen's parents. We have been going over there after work on Thursdays lately, and I think that we are going to try to make a habit out of that. Stephen's dad asks for Stephen a lot, and gets sad when he doesn't visit often, and well, I just enjoy spending time with them too. I think that I actually even got jealous when Liz (T's mom) told me that Kevin (T's brother) and Nicki (his fiance) visit them every Wednesday and have dinner with them. Why would that make me jealous? I am not sure, but I know that I didn't like it, and decided to make more of an effort to visit. I am glad that we have been. When we were there last Thursday, I said that I had to get home before Survivor started, and I found out that T's mom watches it too. I never knew that. So we talked about it, and now for the past 2 weeks, she has been calling me after Survivor to talk about what happened. That is just so cool. I have been enjoying it.

We've also been stopping by Gerald (T's brother) and Michelle's more often to visit with them and their 5 kids more often... even if it is just for a few minutes here and there. I have been enjoying that too. I think that being close to family is such an important thing, but it's so easy to get out of the habit of making the effort. Jimmy (our 2 year old nephew) was so happy to see us last night when we stopped by and even though we were only there for about 10 minutes (we had bought chinese food for dinner, and ate with Stephen parents, and decided to take the left overs to Gerald and Michelle's) to drop off the food and stuff, I took a few minutes to play with Jimmy and roll a ball around, and it just really made my whole night. That's what I mean, the little things like that can really make us happy.

Tonight is couples night, and we are having dinner at Sherry and Chucks. Cory and Jim will be there as well, and I am really looking forward to it. I am glad that we started this tradition (does 2 times make a tradition? hehe), and I look forward to all the happy memories of couples night to come. Cory will host the next one, and then it will be my turn again. I am already trying to think of cool things to make. This is fun :)

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image