Current Archives About Me Host Design

Chicken Soup
04-13-2002,

Chicken Soup...

April 12, 2002

When Jen and I first became friends, and she lived in North Carolina.. we used to always talk about how we wished we lived closer. Same for when she lived in Virginia... but we never ever really thought that we would live an hour from each other. It was like one of those things that you wish for, all the while knowing it could never happen.. but still one of our favorite sayings was... If I lived closer....

For instance, when one of us were sick, it would always be.. If I lived closer, I would come over and take care of you.. or if I lived closer I would make you some soup. It's funny how those things have changed now that she lives here... this whole week, I never once said.. I could come make you some chicken soup.. but then it hit me .. why not? So this morning.. I got up, and headed out.. stopping along the way to pick up all the stuff I would need to make chicken soup, and then just dropped in. She was so glad to see me, and so impresed by the stuff I brought.. it was so much fun, and I so enjoyed making her chicken soup.. something that I've wanted to do so long, every time she got sick.

So while the soup was simmering.. we played cards and just hung out. We tried to teach Nicole how to play phase 10, because she was bored with the boys gone and all of her friends not home. We put this purple goop in her hair too (which totally didn't turn out to look as cool as the package.. what a mess it was..), and just had fun doing fun stuff with her.. well until her friend came over and she ditched us, giggle. Then it was just Jen and I and that was very nice too.

I could totally tell how much she totally appreciated me coming over and making her soup (which turned out very good I might add, yum), and it meant so much to me to be able to do that. It really made me feel very good that it seemed to mean so much to her... not like it was a hardship though.. I enjoyed myself tremendously. What a nice way to spend a Saturday. Good company and good food.. hehe. I hope that it really did make her feel better though.. I know how sick she has been all week, and I have felt bad for her.. noone likes being sick, right.

I headed home earlier than either of us really wanted me to, hehe, but I had a date with Stephen to watch the wolves game. What a disappointment that turned out to be. At first, the channel that they play on was having technical difficulties, and you couldn't get sound... so we had the TV on and the radio broadcast for the sound. At first the radio was on a 30 second delay which totally sucked, but they finally got that right... and then about the 3rd period the sound started working. By then the game had gone to pot and the wolves were blowing it anyway, so who wanted to hear that! LOL, still I guess it was only game one of a five game series.. they lost game one against the Ducks too and still won the series so I am not going to fret. There were so many unbelievable fights too, so at least there was some entertainment. Still I was almost glad we didn't bother to go, giggle. Almost I said. I would have loved to gone with Stephen.. I think we would have had a nice time with the drive and exploring and stuff, especially given what a beautiful day it was outside. I wanted to spend the whole day out.. hehe. I just was determined to get out of the house today.

Daily Tidbits

  1. I talked to Chuck today and he said that he and the girls would have gone with me to Grand Rapids for the game, hehe. See, I could have gone.
  2. Jen would have gone too if she wasn't sick.. but I knew she was sick so I didn't even ask her. Doesn't mean that I didn't want to though. It would have been cool to go on that road trip. Still the chicken soup idea was a much better one.
  3. I rode Jen's bike around the block and omg, was it fun. I so need to get my tires fixed so I can ride my bike.. today was such a beautiful day to do so too.
  4. I got to wear shorts today!!!!! I was so excited about that. During the Spring and Fall, my favorite thing to wear is shorts and a sweatshirt.. this is the first time this year that I've gotten to wear shorts, so that was awesome.
  5. It was also fun talking to Tonya today.. they bought a new van last night and she was totally walking on air with excitement today. I love seeing her so happy, she deserves that. She watched the wolves game with me tonight, although she had to listen to the griffins broadcast of it. That was fun though. I love sharing sports with her.
  6. 43 days!

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image