Current Archives About Me Host Design

The Happy and The Sad
04-29-2001,

The Happy and The Sad...

April 29, 2001

Virginia Beach was absolutely awesome. I think that I've never seen Cory so excited about anything. We just had such a wonderful day. It was a little chilly and the water was freezing, but that certainly did not keep Cory and I from playing in the ocean. We were both soaked to the bone and completely freezing, but we had such a wonderful time and it was just so perfect. After a few hours just playing on the beach, we decided to walk the boardwalk and do a little shopping. I got a few things for Stephen, our moms and the girls, and it was really nice. We even stopped for some appetizers, and that was so yummy. We were starving by this point. We got tons and tons of pictures at the Beach and just had a great day.

Then later, we had such a wonderful night at the cabin last night. When we got home from Virginia Beach, Don said that everything was ready at the Cabin and all we had to do was go and enjoy ourselves. WOW, he thought of everything. He had tons of food there for us, a candle on the table, games to play, just so much nice stuff. He and the kids even came by at one point to surprise us and spend a few moments with us and it was just so nice. We had the greatest evening, playing games, and laughing and just being together. Cory and I tried to get Jen and Tonya to stay up all night with us, but they couldn't make it past about 2:30.. Cory and I stayed up gabbing in bed for another hour, but finally gave up and just went to sleep ourselve. We got up early, and found a note on the door from Don telling us that there were donuts, and muffins and coffee and milk waiting for us on the porch. It was set up all nicely too. God, he thought of everything to make this a perfect night. We walked around for a while, and got some more great pictures, and then packed up and headed for Jen's. When we got there, we were just doing some stuff like printing out some pictures that we took with our digital camera's and getting our showers taken and stuff, and Don made us the most wonderful lunch. T-Bone steaks, corn, broccoli, awesome salads, iced tea... yummmm, it was awesome... he served it all fancy with linen table cloth and napkins and candles and it was just so perfect. I cannot get over how wonderful this whole trip was.

Then came the sadness of going to the airport and having to leave. I had a bad case of the 'motionals and cried and cried. I was happy to get home and see Stephen, because man I missed him so very much, but it is always hard to say goodbye to Jen, and now to Tonya too (who is just so wonderful). I was so sad to see this end, but I know that I will see them in a few months when they come to Chicago. I hope that I can show them as wonderful a time as they did us.

So I am home, safe and sound. Our flight home was not so great, the plane was rocking back and forth a lot and we had so strange guy sitting next to us (a whole nother story and a half there), and the landing was rough, but it was nice to see Jim waiting for us, and then to get home to Stephen. He loved the things I got for him, and he has really missed me so much and is waiting to spend time with me. So I am off to be with him, but I wanted to write this while it was on my mind.. So that's my happy and sad for today... What a wonderful few days I've had... the memories will last forever...

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image