Current Archives About Me Host Design

Goodbye Grandpa
05-11-2003, 5:15 p.m.

My grandfather passed away last night, in his sleep. As much as you know that it's going to happen sooner or later, and as much as you can tell yourself that he was ready, and that he is in a better place now, it still hurts. This was my dad's last living parent (his mom passed away when he was only 18 and his step-mom a couple years back), and I can tell how devastated he is, and that hurts most of all.

My parents ended up staying in Indiana last night because he was sick, throwing up and just not feeling well at all.... and my dad didn't want to leave him. I am glad that they were there, I know that my dad is glad that he was. I wish that we had gone yesterday now, but I know that it does no good to wish these things. I got to see him for his birthday a few weeks back, and I am so very glad that I did.

We are waiting for them to come back here now. They are having his body sent back here, because most of the rest of his family is here, but I guess that there is some paperwork that goes along with crossing state lines, so they have been held up a little. The next few days are going to be pretty hard, but I know that we have to be strong for my dad.

Goodbye Grandpa. I was very proud to have you as my grandpa, and I love you. I hope that you are indeed in a better place, and that you've found peace. You will be so missed here, and never forgotten. I love you.

leave a comment
1 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image