Current Archives About Me Host Design

The Difference of A Day
05-14-2002,

The Difference of A Day...

May 14, 2002

It always amazes me, the difference that just one day can make in so many things. Let's see, yesterday was miserable. Tonya thought she might not be able to go with us to Florida.. the whole Florida trip was going out the window.. we were all cranky and irritable, and today, everything is set, and better than ever.. we even planned our grocery list. What a difference one day can make.

At work too.. I was miserable yesterday with the final, but today's final went smoothly and I felt hardly no stress at all. Now I just need to finish final grades and get them submitted, and I am done!!! No more classes for me until the fall quarter. I love that my department doesn't teach in the summer, it gives me time to catch up on things that get put all all year long. We have a lot going on, so it's not like I won't have plenty of work to do, it's just nice to have a break from classes and students. Stephen's department teaches all year long, so he never gets that break.. he hates me for that, giggle. I like to rub it in.

Speaking of work.. I got my annual review from my boss yesterday, to sign. He told me, now don't cry when you read this.. it can't get any better than this.. and he is right. The highest number of points we can have is 65, and I had 63. I have outstandings on everything but 2 things which were exceeds expectations... my boss says that he only takes a point off of 2 things so that it's not perfect and I have room to grow, hah! He loves me, giggle. Seriously though, I love my job and I especially love that I am so appreciated. Stephen's boss is soooooo different.. she feels that you need room to grow in every area and rarely gives a perfect score in any area. That drives Stephen nuts, especially since he sees my evaluations. He asked his boss what he does wrong one year, and she told him, Stephen, you are one of my best employees, and get one of the best evaluations in the department. That is her idea of a great evaluation, and honestly, it's all exceeds expectations.. and it would be a great one, if he didn't see mine too. I feel for him, he works his ass off, often times harder than me. He deserves to be told that.

So, speaking of Stephen.. I have to say.. omg, what a great night we are having, giggle. Okay, we had sex.. and it's the first time in over a month. Yes, you heard that right, over a month. I had that horrible UTI, and then kidney stones, then my period.. and so on and so on, and omg, was I missing it.. I nearly attacked him tonight, I couldn't take it anymore. He attacked back, and hmmm, let's just say I am feeling a lot better tonight! Maybe I can convince him to go for round two... giggle. Works for me!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So Saturday night, we headed for Indiana.. it was storming most of the ride, and that sucked, but I really enjoyed just spending that quiet time in the car with Stephen. It's not a bad drive.. only a little bit over 2 hours, so it's just long enough to be pleasant, lol. We met my mom and gram at Walmart, and then went shopping for groceries and then back to my grams house. We had a nice night, just visiting and watching movies and stuff. My brother was there, with Brian, but Brian was already asleep when we got there, and my brother was getting ready to go out.

Brian woke up for a few minutes, and in his sleep looked over and me and said, Hi Aunt Vicki, I was really missing you.. awwww.. I gathered him up in my arms and sat in the rocker and rocked with him as he went back to sleep. He is so cute. I put him on the floor with Stephen and I, and he just cuddled up with me. It was nice. My brother is a jerk though, and came home and decided to head for home with Brian, since they were leaving in the morning anyway. He woke up the whole house as he was packing up, and grrr, it made for a not so nice night of sleep, or lack of. I was mad cause I was looking forward to spending time with Brian in the morning, and cause I thought that he could at least stay to say Happy Mother's day in the morning, but that's my brother. He is such a night person, and would rather stay up all night and sleep all day.

Mother's Day morning was nice. My mom and gram loved their gifts. We got my mom this really nice frog for her garden that she had been eyeballing for a while. And a gazing ball to go with it. We got my gram this beautiful bird cage and a shepards pole for it, for her yard.. you plant flowers in it.. and she loved it. It is so her, and I am glad I found it. We got them a few little things as well, and it was nice to see them so happy. My mom cried when she read her card, giggle. I love those types of cards.

They decided to spend the day remodeling my gram's kitchen, lol.. they are funny.. we were sitting there talking about Trading spaces, and what would we do if we could remodel her kitchen, when all of a sudden my mom stands up and tears a huge piece of her wall paper off of her wall.. my gram sat there with her mouth hanging open.. I think I did too, until I jumped up and started tearing off wallpaper too. It was so funny.. and then my dad's face when he walked in the room... guess you had to be there.. but needless to say, they were on their way to buy paint and all the necessary supplies.. a new table and chairs, all sorts of things.. and Stephen and I were out of there, lol. Actually, my mom kicked us out since it was starting to storm again, and she didn't want us there too late. It was earlier than we planned on leaving, but it was a nice visit and I am glad we went.

After we got home, we took showers and then headed to see Stephen's mom. We had a nice time there as well, and she loved her gifts.. I got her some yard stuff as well... these beautiful laterns for her flower bed, with nice poles to hang them from. She had us put them out there right away. Kevin and Nicole came while we were there and we had a nice visit. Well until they played their hockey joke on me (grumbling) but you know all about that.. then it was home and watching the wolves game... there now I am caught up on my journal.. hehe.

Daily Tidbits

  1. Stephen and I are going to the Wolves game tomorrow.. yay!! I am so excited and can't wait. I need to go pack my jersey and stuff, hehe. Let's go Wolves!

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image