Current Archives About Me Host Design

Calder Cup Champions
06-04-2002,

Calder Cup Champions...

June 04, 2002

I am sorry that I didn't get on to write an entry last night, for those of you who were looking for one, but we didn't get home until almost 2:00 in the morning. We stayed for the party!!! The Wolves are the Calder Cup Champions!!! Woo hoo.

Stephen and I went out to dinner before the game, and I could barely sit still. He had fun taking his time eating, very slowly, because it was making me even more antsy. I was ready to pull out all my hair, or his by the time we left the restaurant, giggle. Traffic was bad because it was raining, but we got to the arena a few minutes before they opened the doors. I had read that they were expecting a big crowd and I wanted to get there before the crowd did, so we didn't have to wait in line in the rain. It worked out perfectly and we got right in. Stephen had to go to the bathroom, so I told him I would meet him at the seats and I walked around for a few. I ran into Skates of course, and talked to the wolf pack guys for a few minutes. I talk to the one guy a lot now, and he was telling me the other day how he and the guys were shaving their heads after the Wolves won the cup. I asked him if he was ready to shave his head, and he said that he had everything ready to go. It was cute. I got my picture with Skates, to finish off the year, and then went to the seats. I still beat Stephen there, and when he got there, he was like.. Vic, Skates is out here.. all excited for me. I showed him the pic I had with him already, and he said.. I should have known, lol.

The arena was filling up pretty quickly and Stephen and I had fun just sitting there talking until the game started. The fire-work/laser show they do before every game was even more special tonight. I think the whole arena was just charged.. it made everything more special, but they also added extra fireworks and stuff. I love how much everyone cheers when they are singing the National Anthem, and with as many people as were there last night, it got pretty loud.. that always gives me goosebumps, it's so cool. Then it was game time.

The game was awesome.. especially when the Wolves went up 3-0 on the third goal of the night by Maltais. The hats were flying everywhere.. onto the ice, in the stands.. it was such a wonderful site.. I caught a couple of hats coming down from the balcony, and helped do my part by throwing them on the ice, hehe. If I had a hat on myself, it would have found it's way on the ice as well, but I didn't have one.. so I am glad I got to throw someone else's anyway. It was so fun.

When the Sound Tigers scored their first goal, noone was worried.. but when they got the second, we were starting to wonder what was going on. Then when they scored on a goal that should have never gotten past Pasi, I admit I was a little worried. But then he made a couple of big saves, and you could see that he was back on his game, and my confidence in him was back.

By the time the 2nd period ended, I had a roaring migraine. It was horrible, and I just tried to sit and relax during the intermission. I did well, until I heard the opening notes of Black Betty.. Omg, I was out of my seat in a second, screaming and dancing and screaming and screaming, oh and screaming. When Skates does his Black Betty dance, I am just so excited. I love it so much, and he hadn't done so in a while, so I was so excited to see it last night. Stephen kept saying.. now they will win... now they have to. It was awesome, and it always gets the crowd so pumped up. The opening of the 3rd period was so loud.. people were so into it. Pasi made a ton of awesome saves, and you could see that he was totally back on track.. so we just needed to find a way to score.. but it just wasn't happening, and off to OT we went.

I don't know how I made it thru OT. I was so tense and excited and nervous and I swear it was just soooooo crazy. The Refs were totally not making any penalty calls, and it was getting out of hand at points, and fans were getting pissed.. but the real fans understood it, and I am glad that the ref refrained from making any calls that could decide the game. He left it to the players to decide and that was so the right thing to do, but I tell you, people were screaming and yelling, and it was funny. All the players who were not playing last night, as well as the rest of the staff, and owners and stuff were all waiting by the doors to the ice.. to get on quicky if we scored. It was neat to watch how charged everyone was. When OT ended with no score, I thought I was going to die.. the tension was so high. I don't know how I made it thru that last intermission, I could barely breath waiting for the game to start again.

2 minutes into the 2nd OT it happened. It was so fast and so crazy.. the Wolves scored and everyone went wild. The players.. the fans... everyone. Fireworks started going off.. confetti and ribbons were flying all over the ice.. the players were jumping all over each other.. people were screaming and crying, hugging, and going crazy.. it was so much to take in. My heart was racing, and I was so happy. When they presented the MVP to Pasi, the crowd went nuts... bowing to him, cheering.. chanting, screaming... and then whey they presented the cup, forget it. I can't even explain how awesome it was to be there. Watching the players skate around the ice taking turns holding it.. kissing it.. crying.. their families coming out onto the ice.. the confetti still falling.. the whole thing is like a dream. It was everything that I had hoped it would be and then some. I will never ever forget a moment of this. I am so thankful that I was there, it meant the world to me to be there. I took a million pictures, but I haven't even looked at them yet, since I fell into bed the moment we got home. I can't wait to get home from work tonight to look at them and to remember it all. I have had a smile pasted on my face today, and it shows no signs of going anywhere soon. Congrats to the Chicago Wolves. They played hard, and they earned this cup. I am so proud of them, and so proud to be a fan.

Daily Tidbits

  1. As the players started leaving the ice for the locker room, there was an announcement that the party was going to continue in the party room across the street. They had TVs showing all the action in the locker rooms and stuff like that.. so we got to watch the players celebrating, drinking from the cup.. pouring champaigne all over each other. It was exciting and fun. I am glad that we went to that.
  2. We left as I heard that a few of the players were heading over.. but I could barely keep my eyes open, and my head was pounding so badly. I heard that the party was moving to one of the bars, and if it were a weekend, I might have considered going over, but I just couldn't last another minute.. so we were out of there. I haven't heard if they are having a rally or anything yet, but if they do, I might go.
  3. I will share some pictures later too. I can't wait to see them.
  4. This has been like a wonderful dream. I am so glad I got to be a part of this and I will never forget it. I am already going thru hockey withdrawals, giggle. Only 140 days until the opening of next season. However will I manage.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image