Current Archives About Me Host Design

Cookin'
06-04-2003, 8:27 p.m.

Do you have a meal that you make that you just KNOW is good? One that turns out good everytime you make it, and you just sit back and say, damn, that was good? One of those meals for me is my Chicken Vesuvio. It is just out of this world, and I think it turns out better every time I make it. Needless to say, I made it tonight, and yum yum yum.

I think that I am a good cook. I know that Stephen thinks so. I remember when we were first dating, and he used to always talk about what a great cook his mom is... now he always talks about what a great cook I am. Not that it's a competition or anything, because his mom is a great cook, I just like knowing that he enjoys my cooking. Heck, he has gained 50 pounds in the years that we've been married, so I must be doing something right, hehe.

I am very fortunate too.. because my friends are all awesome cooks too, so there are no worries about going to dinner at anyone's either. Jen, she has this southern cooking style down (not that she is limited to that, but she does it well). She really can make some yummy stuff. And if you want *anything* Italian, Cory is your girl (oh and she has this mexican fiest down too... yum). That girl makes a sauce (okay, gravy, sorry, still getting used to that one) that puts Ragu to shame, hehe. Stephen calls her Carmella, and it so fits. I love to be invited to either of their homes for dinner. Unfortunately, I don't get many invites to Tonya's (Distance is a bitch), but the times that she has cooked for us have been oh so wonderful. She especially makes a great alfredo.. man.. it's great. Tonya's style is.... heck, I don't know what her style is.. but she is always up for something new, and something different. That girl can eat the strangest combinations, man, I wish I was more like that. I tend to be a little picky at times. Another one who impresses me is Tricia.. I don't know how she does it, but she is so good at throwing meals together, and making menus. I admire that, and I hope to be able to do that someday.

Me, I don't know what I would call my style.. but I find myself making a lot of dishes that I grew up with, things my mom makes, and my grandmother makes, and also ones that I have learned from my MIL. I like to try new recipes occasionally, but more often than not I tend to get in a rut and stick to the basics. Not that I am complaining, there is enough variety there to make it interesting, I just wish that I were better at making new recipes. Not that I can't make them good, I just don't think to do it all the time.

I love it when we have girl visits, and we take turns cooking.. that is just such special times for all of us. It doesn't hurt that we all love to eat, and believe me when we are together, we can (and often do) put it away. Still, there is just something so comforting about being with friends, and making meals together. Especially when you know that those friends truly love the stuff that you make. Food is such a universal thing. I think one of my favorite times was our trip to Florida, we each took a night to make dinner, and every single one of those nights were just excellent. Oh wow, now that I think about it, I made my chicken vesuvio that night too, hehe, see it IS good.. that is what they picked for me to make. So what are some of your signature dishes? I would love to hear about your favorite things to cook.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image