Current Archives About Me Host Design

50th Birthday Celebration
06-18-2003, 9:28 p.m.

50th Birthday Celebration...
A Dear X Collaboration

June 18, 2003

Dear Mommy,

Happy Birthday!!! Wow! I look at my you, and I can't even believe that you are 50. You don't look 50, and you don't act 50. That sounds silly, because really, what does 50 act and look like? I know people younger than that who act older, and people who are older than that who act younger. Still, looking at you, my mom, noone would guess it. I always smile when people say that we look like sisters, and I secretly love it when people say we look like twins, mostly because I see how much it thrills you, and I love it when you are happy. You deserve to be happy mom, because you do so very much to make others happy. I get that from you, and it's one of the many qualities that I am so thankful that you have taught me.

I felt so bad when Dad told me that you were sad that I hadn't called you yet this afternoon. I had so many plans for today, I was going to call you constantly, and I was planning on sending you flowers and all sorts of fun stuff.. so I was sad when you called yesterday to tell me that you would be out of her office for meetings today. That is why I kept asking if you would be in your office at all. Now, I realize that you didn't know that you would be in your office at all, and I am sorry that I didn't call.. but honestly, I didn't think that you would be there (it did make me smile though when dad told me that you didn't care who else called or didn't, as long as I called, aww). I did call you as soon as I thought you would be available, and left a message on your cell phone, so I was really glad when you got it and called me back. I loved talking to you as you drove home, and I was so glad to hear all the things that people have done in celebration of your birthday today. The roses that daddy sent you sound beautiful, and the party your boss through in celebration of your birthday was so thoughtful. I can just picture you trying to drive home with all those balloons in your car too. I was cracking up everytime you groaned that anyone on the interstate knew you were 50 because of all the "50" balloons. How cute.. I have never seen you worry about an age before, so it's kinda funny in a way.

I am really looking forward to Sunday, and our party to celebrate your birthday and also Father's day. You keep trying to make it mostly for Father's day, and that is because that is the kind of person that you are, but I have a few surprises up my sleeve, including your favorite cake, which I ordered yesterday.. just for you.. noone else. I also have some ideas on your present.. I would have had it already, but I have been going back and forth on a few really good ideas and I can't decide yet.. lol, I guess I am running out of time. I just want it to be as special as you are. We are going to have a great birthday celebration for you on Sunday... never you fear.

Thanks for letting me know about Dad too. I guess I have to go return his gift and get something else now.. ugh. He is such a hard person to buy for to begin with, but I have the perfect gift, something he really wanted... which would explain why he went and bought it himself, huh. Man, we need to teach him, you never buy yourself a present around your birthday, Father's Day, Christmas or any other days you might get gifts.

Anyway, I just wanted to say Happy Birthday Mommy!!! Thanks for always being the best mom in the world, someone that I respect and look up to. I am so lucky, and I know it.. I love you.

Love, Vicki

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image