Current Archives About Me Host Design

Inspiration
06-29-2002,

Inspiration...
A Dear X Collaboration

June 29, 2002

Dear Linda...

I wonder how you are doing, at home with Antonio. Your baby that you waited so many years for, that you worked so hard for and wanted so much. I will never forget the day that I saw you at the clinic, the day that I found out that my own pregnancy was ectopic, and the same day that I had to have the methotrexate injections to end said pregnancy. You just smiled and walked on, not sure what to say or do...but later that week at work, you came up to me and just put your arms around me and told me that you were there, and that you understood. I didn't know you very well at this point, you were a co-worker, and someone that I liked, but we never really talked much. After that day, everything changed.

You were so private about your own journey through infertility, and it always meant so much to me tha tyou trusted me enough to tell me everything. That you shared your journey, your dreams, your thoughts.. all of it, with me. You were there to listen, when I was in the middle of procedures, and you were there to help when I was confused and not sure. You had been trying so much longer, been thru so much more, and although I know how hard it was to talk about sometimes, you shared your experiences with me, to make my own easier. You were always there, ready to listen, ready to share. I wonder if you know how much it always meant to me. I hope that I was there for you as much as you were for me.

I remember going thru your last miscarriage with you. I was so sure that it was going to be your time, but it wasn't meant to be, and I was so sad for you, and I wish I could have changed that, but I am glad that I was able to be there for you through it, as you had been for me. You never said anything when I told you that I was taking a break.. never made me feel like I was giving up, or like I was wrong... but you still came to me while you tried again and again. You didn't shut me out of it, and that too meant so much.

When you told me you were pregnant again, I was thrilled. As thrilled for you as I would have been had it been me. You have been trying so long, and you really worked so hard at this, and you deserved to find some happiness finally, after all your miscarraiges. As your numbers rose, I was so hopeful and happy, even when you were scared and unsure. You handled each problem as they came along, with such dignity and grace, and you impressed me with your strength. You will never know what an inspiration you have been to me.

One of my happiest moments, was your baby shower. You had reached the point where if you went into premature labor, that it would be okay, and you could see how relieved and happy you were. You litterally glowed, and it was always a glorious site to me. As your stomach grew, and you became miserable, you never complained, not once. You enjoyed every moment of it, even as you passed your due date.. and again, I was impressed with your strength. I was so anxious to hear that your little boy was here, and you just kept going on, with that smile on your face that looked like you found the secrets of the world.

Now your son is here, and I can't wait to meet him. You never gave up Linda, never waivered. I am so happy for you and so proud of you. You have been such an inspiration in my life, and you have made me believe once again that miracles do happen. I know that you will continue to be there for me, as you have over the past 2 years. You have become a great friend, and I am thankful for you, and thankful that you have your own little miracle. I don't doubt that you will continue to enjoy every moment of it, as you have this far. Congratulations and good luck.

Love, Vicki

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image