Current Archives About Me Host Design

Bobbleheads and Baseball
07-02-2001,

Bobbleheads and Baseball...

July 02, 2001

Well, I had every intention of writing this last night, after I laid down for a little nap. I laid down at 6:00, and just woke up this morning at 8:00. Man, 14 hours of sleep, I guess it is safe to say that I was a little tired. Okay, exhausted. I am not surprised after last week though. It was a toughie. So let's see, what did I do over the weekend. First of all, I can't believe that I missed 2 days in my journal. Not only did I miss writing every day last month, on the last day.. but I already blew it for this month, on the first day none the less. Hehe, oh well.

Saturday, we got up and just messed around the house a little, and then realized that it was getting pretty late and that if I were going to make it to the bank, I better leave soon. So the girls and I got ready and off we went. I did just make it to the bank, thankfully. Now I won't have to do it today. So when we got to the bank, I handed Chrissy 2 checks and a 100 dollar bill to hold for me. June wanted to hold the dollar, but I told her nope, it's a hundred dollars and I would be sad if she lost it. She said.. a HUNDRED DOLLARS??? With a shocked look, DID YOU STEAL IT? LMAO.. yah, okayyyy. Funny how that seems like soooo much money to a 7 year old.

We finally made it out to my mom's house, and the girls were happy, as they were being brats in the car and tired of me yelling at them to behave. Okay, so I don't really yell, but I was close to it. Turns out Uncle Stephen jokingly told them to be very bad in the car for me, and they didn't take it as a joke. Thanks Honey! We swam most of the day, and mom and I ran out to get fried chicken and stuff for pasta salad and spinach dip. It was yummy for lunch, and even yummier later in the night for a snack, lol.

Krystal wanted to get a new outfit so we all headed off to the Mall. While we were there, I got myself 2 new purses, and from Liz Claiborne too. 30 years old, and this is the first time I've ever had a designer name purse, so I was a little excited. My mom was so tickled at how excited I was (she often has designer name purses, lol), so she bought me a matching wallet. Woo hoo! When we were at the mall, Sherry called and asked if her and Chuck could come over to my mom's and visit the girls for a little bit.. so we headed back home, and they met us there. Cory also called and said that she would be there shortly. We all had such a fun time in the pool, and even more fun when Cory came. After a while we got out and ate, and hung out a little bit, but it was getting late, so Sherry and Chuck left, and Cory and the girls and I went to her house.

By the time we got there it was already midnight so we were not up for long. I gave her the stuff I brought her and she gave me the stuff she had to me. She got me the most beautiful vellum paper with butterflies all over it. It was awesome and I already have ideas on what I am going to use it for. Thanks Cory :)

June was so tired that she passed out the minute we made her a bed, and Chrissy wasn't far behind. We were tired too, but we stayed up talking for a while, and really just enjoyed the company. I am so glad that we spent the night.

When we got up in the morning, we hung out for a bit, although a bit too long, because I was late getting home. Stephen wanted to leave really early for the Sox game, and while I too love getting there early, I thought he was being nuts about it, but he said that if we didn't we would never get our bobbleheads and he had been waiting all season to get this one. Sure enough, we got there too late, the place was a mad house, and the guy said that the bobbleheads were gone in less than 10 minutes, hours ago. Stephen was crushed, and I felt more than a little guilty, but I was determined to get him one. We went to our seats, which were great, and sat down. Well I noticed that this lady sitting next to us had 4 bobbleheads, so I asked her if she would be willing to sell me one. She said that I would have to wait for her brother and son to get back and ask them. So we left to go get some snacks and drinks. When we got back, she handed me a bobblehead, and I asked her how much she wanted for it. She said nothing, that we could have it. Awww, I was so touched. I even offered to mail them one of the Frank Thomas ones we had, but she just wanted to give it to us. I couldn't believe it. Stephen too was so happy. He reminded me that I was someone who would have given one away to someone who wanted it, and that good things are repaid somewhere along the way. I was just so glad that I was able to get one for him. He really wanted one. I also bought him a Ordonez Shirt, to make up for my tardiness, and he was thrilled. So it all worked out okay. The game was good, even though the sox lost, by a lot!!! They had that ceremony for Cal Ripken Jr. and it was just so nice, and I even had a few tears, it was a little emotional. We had a great time, and the girls really enjoyed it a lot. We love taking them to the games and hope that when they grow up that they will always remember the things that we did with them when they were kids. It means a lot to us to be able to do things like this with them.

When we got home, I was soooooooo exhausted, so that's when I decided to take my nap... hehe, okay, so I didn't plan on 14 hours of one, but it sure felt good, and I feel wonderful today. Stephen extended his vacation by a day so he is staying home with us today, which I am soooo happy about. We are just going to hang out. I want to clean out my clothes closets and go thru all the new clothes my mom gave me from her closest (soooo many), and decide what to keep and what to give to Sherry. That's going to take a few hours, I am sure.. but the girls wanted to call Mikey out to play today anyway, so it will all work out. The weekend was lots of fun, but I think we are all ready for a day of nothing more than relaxing.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image