Current Archives About Me Host Design

The 4th
07-04-2002,

The 4th...

July 04, 2002

Happy 4th Everyone! I hope that everyone had as nice of a day as we did. It really has been a very pleasant day, that we've all enjoyed very much. Let's see.. I got up a little later than planned, but okay, no biggie. We had to stop and pick up donuts for Stephen's moms house, and I didn't know it until this morning (thanks honey, for the advance notice, lol), so we were a few minutes late getting to Timmy's game, but we were there for most of it, so that's good. Unfortunately his team lost, boo, but he was okay with it. In his 7 year old wisdom, he said, it's okay, my team won last year, maybe the other kids needed a turn. Awww, what a good kid he can be.

After the game, we all headed over to Stephen's parent's house, where we spent most of the day. Kevin BBQd, and I love the way that they BBQ. It's an all day thing.. first they make hot dogs, then hamburgers and cheeseburgers.. then chicken, and later steaks.. it's like an all day eat fest, and boy did we eat all day long. Michelle also made this awesome potato, carrot, cauliflower dish on the grill, and yum, that was good. We had fun just sitting around laughing, and spending time together. Gerald and Kevin blew off some fireworks with the boys (the day kind) and the girls were just running around playing.

Sherry dropped the girls off to me over there, and stayed and visited for a while. She hadn't seen some of the kids in a while, so it was a shock to her how big they were all getting. I think that she was just glad to get away from the hospital for a while, and we had a nice visit.

Gerald and Kevin and their families were all going over to one of our nephew Eric's friends families house. If that made any sense at all, for a party.. to swim and blow off fireworks later. We don't really know them, and while we were invited, we chose to come home instead. Neither Stephen or myself like to drive on the 4th when fireworks are being blown off in the streets, and we would much rather be home. So we came home around 4, and just hung out here. The girls watched Harry Potter while I cleaned up a little, and then we all made dinner together. We cooked steaks and salmon on the grill, and it always cracks me up how much both the girls love salmon. Chrissy especially, but June has really been starting to love it too. We had a great dinner, and by then it was starting to get dark outside, so we headed out to watch fireworks.

A lot of our neighbors spend a lot of money on fireworks, and so there is so much to watch around here. We had some stuff of our own, but I don't like doing it, so Stephen helped the girls a little, but mostly, we all like sitting and watching everyone else's stuff. We always walk down to the corner, as there is sooooo much to see down there, and tonight was no different. We had a really nice time, and then finally head home. It's starting to quiet down everywhere now, and we all have our jammies on and are going to sit down to watch a movie before bed. The girls and Stephen wanted to watch Galexy Quest, which is a total favorite of theirs, so I guess I can sit thru that one yet again, lol. I am in the middle of a good book too, so I can read while they watch it, hehe. Hope that everyone is having a safe and happy holiday and spending it with loved ones.

Daily Tidbits

  1. Nicole's due date came and went today. She did little more than complain today, hehe. We are used to it though, since she has done little more than complain for 2 months now. She is going to be induced on Saturday though, so she doesn't have much longer to go now.
  2. I lent them one of my cameras to take to the hospital. I hope that they get some great pics of my new niece or nephew. Can't wait to meet him or her.
  3. I think we decided to go to six flags tomorrow so that should be fun. The girls are really excited about it, and even Stephen seems to be, and he usually hates going. He doesn't hate going, and he likes the rides, but he hates hates hates standing in line so much. Hopefully it won't be too crowded. I guess the good thing about having season passes is that if it is too bad, you can leave and not feel like you wasted money. I can't believe we haven't used our passes once this year yet, lol. About time to go, I'd say.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image