Current Archives About Me Host Design

A Better Attempt
08-24-2001,

A Better Attempt...

August 24, 2001

I went to lay down and I realize that I hated my last entry. I don't want to become a whiney thing, and I don't want to only concentrate on things like that. At first I was going to delete it and start over, but then I realized that like it or not, they were my feelings and this is my journal, where I write my feelings. I shouldn't delete them or try to make them less important than they are. So I am going to leave it there, but I am also going to write another entry, a better attempt at one anyway.

I was so glad that I went to the aiport the other night. Even the waiting wasn't so bad this time, and I enjoyed keeping Don company. I am so glad that he and I get along so well, and I am so glad that Stephen and Jen get along so well too.. it certainly is a good thing (smile). Their plane came in, but because so many did at the same time (damn storm), they had to sit on a runway for quite a while before they got to get off the plane. We were so antsy waiting, knowing there were right out there... but eventually they came in. The kids were a bit ahead of Jen, and saw us right away. The boys ran to Don, yelling Dadddyyy... it was so sweet to see. I knew that they were anxious to see him, since they hadn't for a few weeks, but I guess they are used to that with the Navy and stuff. It's going to be interesting to see how quickly they forget all about that stuff now that their lives will be more normal in those areas. Nicole gave me a hug right away and was genuinely happy to see me. That made me feel wonderful, and the boys were quick to do so too. Lain said, I am so glad you came... and then out came Jen... She was so surprised to see me, since it was late and I wasn't supposed to be there. Deep down though I think she had to know that I would be there. I wouldn't have missed it. I took a few pictures of all of them, and then we went to get their baggage. I took Don's phone from him so I could call the Limo driver and tell him they were ready (the Limo was a surprise from Don and neither Jen nor the kids knew about it, I was so excited for them, hehe). When we got out there, the kids were so excited seeing all the limos going by and more than once wished for one of their own. They had no clue that they were about to get their wish. Jen figured it out pretty quickly, but that was okay. Don was like a kid at christmas himself.

When the limo pulled up and Don opened the door, you could pick the boys mouths off the ground. They were so excited, as was Nicole. Jen cracked me up when she looked into the limo and then looked at me and asked, Where is Stephen? Giggle... she thought he was there waiting. He was tickled later when I told him that too. I got some cute pictures of them all in the limo and off they were, and me to find my car and go home. I was so happy that I got to see them, and share in their special homecoming. When Don said to Jen, Welcome home, I wanted to cry... this is her home now... unbelievable.

I got home about 1:30 or so.. and was so tired.. but not too tired to wake Stephen up for a little nookie... giggle.. and oh how wonderful that was. So what if I only got a few hours of sleep, it was all so worth it.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image