Current Archives About Me Host Design

A Day With Friends
08-26-2001,

A Day With Friends...

August 26, 2001

Stephen had the early game today, so he had to get up early (he likes to sleep late on Sundays, so the early game is not something he likes having). I had gotten up early anyway, because, well I guess I was just done sleeping. Which is a good way of putting it, LOL. The house has pretty much stayed pretty clean since I cleaned it on my day off earlier in the week. Normally, I tend to clean up on Sundays, so today I didn't have to. Instead, I laid down on the living room floor with my book (Jackie Collins, Hollywood Wives, the Next Generation), and just read for a couple of hours. I thought about working on my scrapbooks some more, but I did so much yesterday that I was sorta burned out on them, and didn't feel like it. So instead, I just read for a few hours, which was very nice and very relaxing. Jen, Don and the kids got over about 1:00. I was so glad to see them. I realized today that while they've all been at my house at one time or another, this was the first time that they've all been there at the same time. LOL, how funny. I kept thinking this morning, wow, this is the start of it all.. this is where it gets real.

We had such a nice time today. The kids wanted to play playstation, so I put on the game Life for them. Don had ran out to go shopping for a while, that cracks me up. Stephen wouldn't be caught dead shopping. Sometimes I wish he would, LOL. Jen and I sat and just enjoyed our time, and watched the kids play. Then when they were done with the game, we decided to play again, this time with them. It was fun, and silly and just nice. Nice to just be doing normal silly stuff with Jen. In all the years that we've been friends, we've never had a day quite like this. It was just relaxing, without the thought in your mind, I need to make the most of this time, because who knows when we will have time again. It's going to take some getting used to, not having to worry about that� I like it.

I made such a yummy dinner. We had pot roast with carrots and celery and mashed potatoes and beef rice-a-roni. I also made a yummy salad too. It just all came together nicely, and I know that Jen and Don appreciated it, especially since they've been eating out for weeks now. Something about a nice home-cooked meal, when you haven't been getting any lately. LOL. We enjoyed dinner, and kept saying how nice of a feeling it was.

After dinner we were all playing on the playstation for a while. Don and I were racing on Pole position. I was laughing, because I remember how much I loved this game when I was like 11, LOL. Jen wanted to take Kris to toys r us before they left, so we ran over there for a while, which was nice too. I know I keep saying that, but I am still getting used to having them around, and for a while, I am just going to keep feeling how nice it is, LOL. We really had a nice day, and when they were getting ready to leave, there was none of the sad feelings of not knowing when you will see each other again, or thinking that it will be months away. It was, okay, just nice, LMAO.

The only down side of the day is that my phone wasn't working. Jen had wanted to get online to pay some bills and stuff like that, and I wanted to get online to put this in my journal, but oops, couldn't do any of that. It is the strangest thing too, the phone will ring when someone calls, and the called ID registers who it is, but you can't answer it, because the line is down, and you can't get a dial tone, so you can't call anyone. They came out to look at it right away, and found that the problems are in the outside lines. Guess they will have someone out in the morning to fix it. Thank goodness for cell phones at times like this. LOL. Well, I really wanted to write this anyway, and I guess I will save it and upload it to my journal tomorrow. At least I feel like I wrote today, and that's what counts. I wanted to be able to go back later and laugh about how it felt today, the first day we got to spend with them as Illinoisans.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image