Current Archives About Me Host Design

40 Wonderful Years
09-28-2003, 8:03 p.m.

Today is Stephen�s parent�s 40th Anniversary! 40 Years! That is just so amazing to me, and also so very impressive. Not even being 40 myself, I can�t imaging what it must feel like to know that you�ve spent 40 years of your life with your spouse. I am so proud of them though, it really is quite an accomplishment, especially in this day and age. I know that they have not always been easy years for them, let's face it, can anyone ever say that it's always easy? But they've made it through the rough ones and have enjoyed the good ones. They are good together, and it's a joy to see them so happy to this day.

We�ve had a wonderful weekend filled with many family activities. Mom and dad got home from Vegas yesterday evening, Kevin told them that he wanted to take them out to dinner, but they didn�t want to go, so he had to tell them our plans (we *were* going to surprise them originally, but I didn�t think that would work, as I know how it feels coming home from Vegas, it�s such a long arduous process). They were so excited when they heard that everyone was going though, pleasantly surprised too.

We all went to this Pizza place where we go for things like this, the reason being that it is easy with all these kids. They have a large room that they can put us in and the kids can run around and have a good time. It just really works out so well, and last night was so exception. Stephen and I had taken a cake with us, but Mom wanted to take it back home, and have everyone come over there, so after dinner we all headed over for cake, coffee and more family time. We all gave them our gifts too... Stephen and I bought them the 40 year anniversary precious moments statue (Mom collects them). She was so thrilled with it, and re-arranged her curio cabinet right away to give it a place of honor. I am so glad taht is what we got for them. Everyone just sat around talking for hours. Stephen and I didn�t even leave there until after midnight, and I was so tired, I just came home and fell into bed.

Today we went over and everyone else came and we all had lunch together. Today is their actual anniversary, and they were just so thrilled that all of their children, and grandchildren were able to be with them. I was going to skip it today, so that I could go to Cory�s shower after all, but I could really tell how much Stephen wanted me to go with him (even though he kept telling me to go to Cory�s since that also meant so much to me), but in the end I decided to go with him, and I am glad I did, as we had a wonderful time. It was a really nice day spent with family. I wish I could have done both though, I really wanted to see how wonderful Cory�s day was, and I can�t wait to hear all about it. I am sure it was perfect though. It�s hard when there are two things in a day that you really want to do, and there is no way to do both.

In fact, Gerald and Michelle had to leave early for Jake and Eric�s football game today, and we talked about going to that, but it was at a park kind of far (an away game), and we wouldn�t be able to make it to Kevin�s game if we went to Jake and Eric�s. Since Jake and Eric have several games left, and Kevin only 2, we chose to go to Kevin�s game. We will go to Jake and Eric�s up coming games (Especially their homecoming which is in a couple of weeks). I am glad we went to Kevin�s, he was so excited that we were there, and he played so well. His team won, and it was a great game. Stephen�s brother Kevin bought both himself and I some split the pot raffle tickets, and we won, yay. We split that money, so that was a fun thing too, hehe, it always is. I also got to spend some time with Tracy (Kevin�s ex wife) which I enjoyed. Tracy and I were very close when they were married, and while we don�t hang out like we did back then, I always enjoy the times when I get to see her, very much in fact.

It�s been a great weekend over all, one that I have really enjoyed. Back to work early tomorrow. Our first exam, ick. Means an early morning and long day, so hopefully I will be able to get to sleep early tonight.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image