Current Archives About Me Host Design

The Good and The Bad
09-29-2002, 8:41 p.m.

The Good and The Bad...

September 29, 2002

Wow, what a weekend. I tell you, it was really so very good, until it was so very bad, and then when it was bad it was bad. I so do not want that to be what I remember though, because the good was so very good too... if that makes any sense at all. I guess I should just start at the beginning.

I got up Saturday and decided to go to the gym like I wanted to. I had a pleasant surprise when I go there, Nicole got there a minute before I did. This was the first time that I have ever been there at the same time as her, so it was nice. We walked on the treadmill together, and just talked about family stuff. It made the time go by quickly. When I got home, we ate breakfast and then June and I scrambled to get ready to go. We were meeting my parents at this starbucks near her work, and then we headed over for the fest that they were having. It was a lot of fun, and I am so glad that we went. They really do a lot, and I do mean alot.. they have about 20 food tents with different items in each.. a pizza tent, hot dogs, chicken, burgers, corn on the cob, ice cream, chips, drinks.. all at different tents but all in a circle so it's convenient.. they also have a whole area for crafts and stuff.. and then a whole carnival with about 25 rides.. also a petting zoo, pony rides, and areas with clowns, and story telling, and so on.. and all for free. It's for their employees and their families, and they do so much. It was such a great time, and June had so much fun running from thing to thing.. I had fun too, and so did mom and dad. It was really great.

After we left there, we headed out to Jen's. It was a little earlier than I thought it would be, so I was glad for that. It meant that we had time to walk around the shops downtown when I got there. We had such a great time doing that. It was Jen, Tricia and I, since Jess was unable to make it. We went into all these little stores and had a great time looking around, and buying a few little things. Don had taken the kids over to the carnival to give us a chance to have adult time, which was so nice. We had a great afternoon.

We went back to Jen's for dinner, which was very yummy! She made chicken on the grill, and an awesome pasta salad (can't wait for that recipe Jen, I really loved it alot). After dinner, we hung out for a bit, and then it was time to walk over for the fireworks. We carried chairs to sit out by the river, and got a good position. The fireworks were spectacular.. they were beyond spectacular.. they really were so great. It was a beautiful night for them too, and we just enjoyed it very much. I was sorry to see it end, but all good things must, right. We headed back to Jen's and just hung out talking and stuff until bedtime. I was actually so very tired by the time we went to bed, but that did not stop me from sitting up talking to Tricia for a while, hehe.

This morning, I got up, and sat on the porch with Jen and Don enjoying a cup of coffee.. and then they got ready to go to Church. June went with them, and I really would have as well, but Sherry and Chuck were coming, and someone had to be there for them. After they left, I took a shower and got dressed, and then Tricia got up, and we sat around watching lifetime, and yakking until Jen got back. Sherry and Chuck ended up being late and didn't get there until after Jen got back, so that worked out nice. We had a nice visit, and ran to the store to get stuff for a late lunch/early dinner. Jen agreed to make her awesome steak sammiches and we even had her make more of the yummy salad from the night before. I of course, pigged out, hehe.. but I have been so full since, and didn't eat dinner later.. so it really all equaled out I figure. Plus, I had fun jumping on the trampoline with June a lot of today, and that, I have to say, is a lot of exercise.. I really am exhausted tonight.

Okay, so all that was good, where did the bad come in? Well, first, I had a little disagreement with Sherry. June got punished for something, and she wasn't able to go to the carnival with Chuck, Don and the other kids. I thought that was a little harsh, but it's their choice, and I didn't say anything. But then, Sherry made June stand in the corner on top of not being allowed to go to the carnival. For what she did wrong, which was not really all that bad.. I really felt that a double punishment was totally uncalled for, and I said something to Sherry about it. Now that was my mistake.. I knew that I was wrong, I shouldn't say anything about how she disciplines, them, but I just couldn't stop myself. Actually, she was very good about it, Sherry was. She said that she was glad that I felt I could share how I felt, and that she respected my feelings.. but I felt bad about the whole thing, and it just really put a damper on it for me. Sometimes I just need to learn to keep my mouth shut, especially lately. Then the thing that really upset me, was Chuck.. he started talking about how Chrissy wants to go to this football game the weekend that Tonya and the girls are coming. Now, I have told Chrissy several times, that if she wants to go, to go, that I would not be disappointed or upset at all, and that we could work something out.. but Chuck kept saying how Chrissy feels guilty about hurting me, and doesn't want to tell me she wants to go to the game.. and how she is only going to be in high school once, blah blah.. I got upset, finally, and left the room, to which he made a comment.. but whatever. I was really upset.. and not about the fact that Chrissy might not come, but that he would even think that I would even make her feel guilty about it. It's a hard situation to begin with.. I obviously have no rights where they are concerned, and I KNOW how much they do by letting us have the girls so much.. but to make me feel like I don't have their best interests at heart, well that hurt.

We all left Jen's shortly after that. I would have stuck around a little longer, but I was so close to tears and just wanted to go. As it was, I cried so much all the way home. I was feeling so horrible, and I was so close to wanting to say that I wouldn't take the kids anymore.. but that was just silly.. that would just hurt everyone, the girls, stephen and myself. When I got home, I called Chuck.. and I talked to him, and I told him how I felt by it all. That was really hard for me, but I had to. He told me that he was sorry and that he didn't mean it that way, but that Chrissy plays us against each other, and he wanted to talk about it in front of her, so that she could see we were willing to work together. It was a hard conversation, but I think we both said a lot of things that we needed to say. I did tell him that I wouldn't ask for the girls if he preferred... but he said that it wasn't what he wanted at all. So, we worked it out, and they are going to bring the girls down Saturday morning, and pick them up Sunday evening, so that Chrissy can go to her game on Friday and still spend some time with Maddy and Rachel. That is fine, I have not a problem with that.. it was never the timing.. it was the way he made me feel. I do feel a little better.. but that kind of thing sticks with you for a bit, and so I am still feeling emotional over it.

So that was my weekend, the good and the bad. The good was better, and even though the bad is the last thing that happened and so it sticks out, I really had a great weekend!! I had so much fun at cornfest, and can't wait for Tonya to be here in 2 weeks, so we can have more fun.

Daily Tidbits

  1. I am watching the Seahawks, while I write this. I rarely get to actually see my team play, so that's a nice treat. They are even winning which is another nice treat since they've lost their last games... eek. Hope they can keep it going. Wonder if Tenneesee won yesterday.. can't believe I don't know the answer to that. Tonya even called us earlier and I forgot to ask, oops.
  2. My seahawks have a new uniform this year. Now my jersey doesn't match, pout. Stephen said, Vicccc, know how hard it was for us to find this one??? LOL. Seattle is just not a big market here in Chicago.. but mannnn, lol.
  3. I am going to go get another layout done in my book before bed. I have been getting a lot done lately, and I know it's because of how much the girls and I are talking about it lately. That helps keep me motivated. I have such a headache though.. maybe I will just go to bed.. but I have half a layout already done, so it would be easy to just finish it.. hmmmm.
  4. I did a flip on the trampoline!!! I was scared.. and I've never been able to do flips before.. but I did one... well a couple actually, woo hoo.. it was cool!
  5. Okay, going to watch the end of the Sopranos with Stephen. I missed last weeks cause I feel asleep so I wanted to watch that before I watch this weeks, but I really feel like cuddling with him, so I will just be confused while I watch it, lol.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image