Current Archives About Me Host Design

Falling Leaves
09-30-2002, 8:46 p.m.

Falling Leaves...
A Random Acts of Journaling Collaboration

September 30, 2002

When I saw this picture, I knew that it was what I was going to write about for this month's collaboration. I have been planning to write an entry about autumn for some time now, and about all my favorite things about it. I planned on writing this entry on the first day of Autumn. There is so much I can say about it, so where do I begin.

Autumn is, by far, one of my most favorite times of the year. I love absolutely everything about this time of the year. I love the crispness you can actually feel in the air. I so love having our windows open at night, feeling the cool breezes coming in, enjoying the smell in the air. Stephen and I love laying in our bed at night, or even on weekend mornings, with the windows open, all cuddled under the covers. It's so nice because it is cool, but yet not too cold to enjoy. We usually will have the fan going as well, and just burrow under the covers. I have to say that Shadow and Meowskers love this time of the year too, and they can often be found laying in one of the windows.

I love going outside wearing shorts or jeans and sweatshirts during this time of the year as well, and being totally comfortable. I don't know what it is about wearing shorts with sweatshirts, but it has to be one of my favorite outfits, and the fall is the best time of the year for that. Stephen laughs at me because towards the end of fall my legs will be bright red after we've been outside for a long time, but I just hold out on putting those shorts away as long as possible.

I love the fall festivals and the pumpkin patches. We take the kids to at least one pumpkin patch every year. I love taking pictures of them looking for the perfect pumpkin. We have such fun carving our pumpkins too. Chrissy wants to make pumpkin seeds this year, so maybe we will try to do that. I can't believe that I've never made them before. We love eating them, at least the girls and I do, Stephen is not very big on them.

I love Halloween, the decorations and the costumes. I look forward to putting my decorations out every year, and to getting a few new ones each year. I love making halloween crafts, and I took out a few books this year to look for new ones to make. I have some ideas, and I better get moving on them, because I wanted to have some done in the next few weeks. I love waiting to hear what the girls want to be for Halloween and then helping them get their costumes together. Sherry has never been a big fan of Halloween, so I've always been able to take them trick or treating, and I've loved that. I can remember every costume they have had, and how cute they looked. Sometimes I dress up with them, other times not, but we always have fun. We often go to the halloween party at work, with games and a haunted house. The girls so love haunted houses, and I love taking them. We also love going to Freight Fest at Halloween, it's such a great time.

One of my most favorite things about Autumn though would have to be the colors of the falling leaves. I think that the most beautiful thing in the world is driving down a country road where all you can see as far as you look are trees and all the leaves on these trees are changing to such vibrant colors. I especially love the gold and red ones.. some of them actually look like they are on fire, the colors are so bright. Gosh, I could sit and stare at them for hours. Stephen is always pointing out trees, and saying.. look, your favorite colors.. and he is right. The mix of the colors is just so undescribable! I just love Autumn!!!

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image