Current Archives About Me Host Design

Surprise Lunches
10-01-2002, 10:01 p.m.

Surprise Lunches...

October 01, 2002

It is always so nice to have a friend call you up at the last minute and say let's have lunch. For one, because it is a pleasant surprise, but also because it just makes you feel loved. Sherry called me this morning and said, hey, I have to run something down to the office near where you work, wanna meet for lunch. Of course I wanted to. She and I rarely have time together for just the two of us and what a perfect opportunity to just do that. Plus, I have still been feeling funky about the stuff that happened this weekend, and I knew that seeing her would go a long way towards helping me feel better. I wasn't wrong.

She wanted to meet at Pizza hut. Now, I am sure that I've mentioned here more times that I can count, pizza is not really my favorite thing, but it is her's and so I said sure, that sounds great. Later, I was really glad that she had picked it after all. See, Today is October 1st (obviously) and thus starts my month long avoidal of french fries. Yes, I gave up French Fries for the month, but only fast food, or fried fries.. meaning it's okay to bake them at home if I am absolutely dying for some. It's going to be hard, but so rewarding, and I know that the time that is going to be the hardest will be dinners at the in-laws, since they often order pizzas and fries. Anyway, back to today.. so since she picked Pizza hut, there was no chance of me dying without fries...hey the first few days are always the hardest.

We had a nice lunch and a really nice visit. We really do enjoy each other's company. It's a shame that we don't make more time for each other. Maybe that should be something that I work towards. It's funny though.. over the years, Sherry has become family, and that is the way I tend to think of her. Maybe in the process, I forget that our friendship needs attention too. One thing I love though, is the certainty that Sherry will always be there. She is family, and family is forever.

After lunch, she had to get back, and I still had a little time, so I went over to carson's and tried on some really cute dresses. There were a few that looked really nice too, but I just didn't want to spend the money. I have 2 really cute skirts that I bought a while back when I was shopping with Cory, and I haven't even worn either of them yet, so I figure that I can wear one of those. I really did want to get a new dress, but there is a lot of things that I want to do, and our vegas trip is getting closer and closer, so I don't want to spend that money, lol.

When we got home from work tonight, Stephen said that he would make dinner, and so I went off to the gym. I walked on the treadmill for 30 minutes, and was about to reset the machine for another 30 (you can only do 30 minute intervals, but I was on one of the unlimited machines, you just have to reset it after 30 mins). Anyway, they were just about to start the aerobics class, and I had been thinking about taking that sometime, but had been scared to do so.. so I stood there for a minute staring at the class, wondering if I could do it. I almost didn't, but finally I made myself get in there and do it. OMG, I am so glad I did. I really really liked it a lot.. even more than step. It was easier for me to catch on, and I didn't feel so akward when it took me a minute to catch on. It was great, and I had a great workout.

I got home in time to eat dinner and watch Buffy.. oh la la, Spike is just such a cutie, lol. Then I worked on my scrapbook and hung out with Stephen, or I should say he hung out in here with me. It's been a nice day.. I think that my surprise lunch just put me in a great mood and it lasted throughout the day.

Daily Tidbits

  1. I had to stop and buy new gym shoes tonight. Cory always reminds me that you are supposed to get new ones every six months when you are working out, so I was a little over due, and my shoes were getting rather on the flimsy side. I just hate getting new gym shoes, lol.. but I did, and I came home and walked around in them a little to get them ready for tomorrow.
  2. Man it is so hot in our house, but I am so determined NOT to turn back on the AC. As soon as I do, it will just cool off. I love this weather though, so I am trying not to complain, but man, it's hard for me to sleep when I am so hot. Stephen told me to go ahead and turn on the AC after I complained about being hot for the 10000 time.. but I am not doing it. I can be stubborn when I set my mind to it.. hehe. Instead I just ran and took a cold shower.. bet you didn't even realize I was gone, hehe.
  3. I so need to work on my eating again. I am fluctuating with my weight instead of losing lately.. and I am working out the same.. it's the eating, and I know it is.. but I get on these downward slides.. I am going to start working at it tomorrow.. although I keep saying that, don't I? LOL One of these days I might actually get it right. You would think that as hard as I work with the working out, that I would want to make it easier on myself by eating well.. you would think, lol. Maybe those surprise lunches aren't so good in that area, lol.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image