Current Archives About Me Host Design

Much Too Quickly
09-30-2001,

Much Too Quickly...

September 30, 2001

What a wonderful weekend we had. My only complaint is that it passed much too quickly. We had a great time though, and did lots of fun stuff.

Thursday, Cory picked up Chrissy and June and then myself, and we headed out to Jen's house, while she headed to the airport to pick up Tonya and the girls. I was a little sad for a moment about having to wait to see Tonya, but really it was a good thing, because we got to decorate before she got there, and also because she and Jen really deserved that alone time. So while Cory got the kids making Welcome posters, I started dinner (it was yummy, as was all the food all weekend). When Jen and Tonya got there, we were waiting with tons and tons of confetti. That was so fun, especially the look on Don's face. He couldn't wait to clean that mess up, it was so cute.

We had such a great time just being together, and playing catch up. After dinner and all, we decided to play *make-up* with the kids. Oh my, I laughed so much and really enjoyed myself. We let the kids draw names from a hat to see who got to make up who, and Rachel got Jen... I am laughing just thinking about those globs of glitter on Jen's face. We took tons of pictures too. We also took our turns putting make up on the kids, and we got even as well, snicker. It was a great time.

Friday, we got up early so that we could all get ready for our pictures. We got to the mall in time, and the pictures turned out great. The kids were so well behaved, and it really was a great experience. We did the red, white and blue theme, and it just turned out adorable...

See what I mean?

After pictures, Cory had to get headed home for her camping trip, and we really were very sad to see her go. I was sorry that this all came up on a weekend that wasn't good for her, and feel bad for that. I know she had a great time though and probably didn't think about us much, hehe. We shopped for a bit more before we headed out to have lunch. Yum. OMG, Jen took us to this restaurant that we love, but when she went to show up the desserts they had, she made a big mess... ROFL. She opened the display case and a shelf collapsed, with all the dessers with it. Tonya and I were cracking up. Bet Jen doesn't do that again. Friday night we just kinda hung out...we watched Xanadu (a favorite of Tonya and I), and just had a nice evening. We got to go walk around the fest for a while and we went to the grocery store, and had fun being silly. Tonya and I spent some time baking, some more cheesecakes and million dollar pie.. yum.

On Saturday, we spent the day at the Corn Festival. We got all you can ride wristbands for the kids and Don watched them for us so that we could walk around town and shop. Oh, what fun that was... we went into all these quaint little shops and really just enjoyed ourselves and each other. I got some candles that smell soooooooo yummy (Buttercream) and a few little things. Tonya and I enjoyed some corn...mmmmm, and a carmel apple...yumm. After a few hours we met up with Don and the kids and headed back to the house. Tonya and I made her awesome awesome alfredo... oh man, was it good. I will have to make that for Stephen sometime. Boy, we really ate well this weekend, hehe.

After dinner, we sat down to watch the Tennessee game... WOO HOO... Great game, and they won, and it was just so awesome to watch it with Tonya. I wish I could watch them all with her. In the middle of the game, we walked down to the river to watch the fireworks display that they were having with the Corn fest... beautiful display and a great great time spent with friends. The kids loved it so much, and I even went ahead and got them some of those glow sticks.. they were thrilled. After the fireworks, we went back and watched the rest of the game, and helped the kids with their homework.

We talked about staying up late, and enjoying our last night. June had asked me to lay down with her until she fell asleep, so I did... only I never got up... uggghhh, I felt so bad this morning when I woke up. I so wanted to stay up late.... pout pout pout. This morning we got up, packed and out the door by 9. We went to Stephen's basketball game, which was fun, because it was fun to share it with Jen and Ton...and Stephen was so happy to have us there. After the game it was time for the airport, which was not the happy moment of the day...Lots of hugs, but even more tears... I hated seeing them leave... it never gets easier, only worse. I love them so much and wish that they lived here too... or at least closer. Jen and I cried watching them go down that hallway. It was not a happy moment by any means. I am still waiting to hear that they got home safely.

Jen and I stopped and got some ice cream and shakes for the girls, and went to the park for a while and talked about how much we missed them already, and watched the planes go over head while we tried to decide if it was their plane. I enjoyed the time with Jen, it was a nice ending to a wonderful weekend.

Stephen and I came home and hung out with the girls... had dinner and watched the Nightmare before Christmas. Then Stephen gloated over his football team beating mine... the stinker...and Chuck came and got the girls...they were sad to leave, but they are coming back next weekend for the weekend...hehe. The opening Wolves game... woo hoo.

Now I still have to finish unpacking, and put away a couple baskets of clothes, hehe... Back to work tomorrow... ugghhh... this weekend was just way too fast!

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image