Current Archives About Me Host Design

Kathleen's Christening
10-06-2002, 8:34 p.m.

Kathleen's Christening...

October 06, 2002

What a nice day today turned out to be. We got up early, but laid in bed for a while. Stephen fell back to sleep so I got up and decided to get to the gym as it was opening. It's always nice getting there when they first open, because it's so empty and you can get in and workout and get out of there, and then it's done and you don't have to worry about it the rest of the day. I got home, and woke Stephen up and took a shower. At first, the plan was to get ready for the christening, and then just hang out at his mom's and go from there, but things changed, so I just put on sweat pants and a sweatshirt and tossed my hair into a pony tail and took him to his game, and then went to his parents. I guess that Michelle had called and asked them to watch James, and she was going to drop them off at Church, but they called and asked me to take him to Stephen's game with me instead, so I went over there to pick him up. Only they were not there yet, so I sat and waited. About 11:25 (church starts at 11:30), they were still not there, so I told my MIL that I would take them to church real quick and then come back and wait to see if they come. They never did, which kinda made me mad (because we all changed our plans to accomodate her, and she could have called or something). Stephen got there, and we hung out until it was time to pick his parents up at Church, then I took mom to run a few errands, and then Stephen and I headed home to get ready for the Christening.

I am glad that we got to come home to get ready, it really worked out better that way anyway. Stephen kept saying.. I am really glad you bought that outfit honey, you look soooo great, giggle. That made me feel really good, and I know he meant it too, cause when I tried it on to show him last night he attacked me while I had it on, snicker. The thing is, this top shows a lot of cleavage, and I have to be careful when I bend over to hold it up, lol.. I had it pinned with a safety pin and that helped a little, but not much. I really did get a lot of compliments today, both on my outfit and also on my weight loss.. from a few of the members of Stephen's family who usually don't comment on that sorta thing, so that made it even more special. Oh, one funny thing that happened.. Delores says to me.. "I am not trying to insult you or anything, but I have some pants that I bought to wear after having the baby that would probably fit you now, if you want them" Insult me????? I never could imagine the day that Delores could actually say to me, I have some pants that would probably fit you.. hell, I was not insulted... I was flattered, hehe.

Anyway, so we got to the church for the christening, and sat with Stephen's family. The cute thing.. my neice Kimberly had saved a seat for me.. she wanted to sit with her godmother she said. Kevin had called me this morning to tell me that Kimmy was crying cause Gram told her that I didn't get an invite in the mail (it got lost in the mail, but they told us about it months ago.. lol).. and she thought that meant we weren't coming. I love having special relationships with the kids. The christening was beautiful of course, and I got some great pictures. I laugh because whenever someone wants a picture taken, they call me over... what am I the family photographer?

Kathleen's dress was sooooo beautiful , one of the prettiest I've ever seen, and she looked just like a little angel. She was so good too, and didn't cry like some of the other babies did. Well she did cry but not when they were baptizing her, hehe. It was a a nice ceremony.

We all went back to Kevin and Nicole's after, for her party, and that was nice too. Most of Stephen's family was in one part of the apartment while Nicole's family was in the other. That always cracks me up. We had a great day, and enjoyed spending time with everyone, and Stephen had to practically drag me out of there. He was teasing me as we left and said.. you just wanted to stay to hear some more how great you look. It was nice hearing it a lot, but that's not why I wanted to stay.. I really do love our family, and I love the time we spend with them. Besides, I got to spend a lot of time with the babies today, especially with Kathleen. Nicole was so busy playing hostess that she gave her over to me a lot.. I loved that, very much. I always love spending time with all the kids. When I wasn't playing with the babies, I was playing with the older kids, which was just as much fun. I just had to be careful to watch my shirt so it didn't gape open and give everyone an eyeful. I am not used to having that sort of problem.. I usually don't wear things that are like that, but I really love this shirt and it did look cute.

Daily Tidbits

  1. When we got home, I went for a walk. It is so beautiful outside, and I haven't gone walking in a while, and it wasn't too late out so I decided why not. It was a nice walk, and I am glad I went.
  2. We have to be into work tomorrow by 7, so it's going to be a longggg day. I should try to get to bed early tonight, and hopefully I will be able to fall asleep. I am so tired right now, but I know that once I try to go to bed, I am going to just wake up, because that is how it always works on exam nights, lol.
  3. Only 4 more days until Tonya is here. I am really looking forward to next weekend, and hope this week goes by quickly. We are going to have such a great time.
  4. Everyone was making plans today to go to Fright fest together.. they wanted to go on the 20th, but Stephen and I will be going to Vegas that day.. woo hooo.. that is coming up too, I am so way excited about this trip.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image