Current Archives About Me Host Design

Brunch
10-19-2002, 9:35 p.m.

Brunch...

October 19, 2002

It is almost funny how certain words can conjur up certain memories, and how some words make you think of bad things, and other of good things. Brunch is a word that makes me cringe sometimes, because of some bad things that happened in the not so distant past. Brunch brings back the thought of some lost friendships and some very mean things... but today it meant something really good.. and I hope now that when I think the word brunch, I will remember the wonderful time I had meeting a friend today.

Amy is a person that I met about 4 years ago, when I first joined a TTC list.. it was my first list, and Amy was the first friend that I made there. She was there for me during my struggles, and I would like to think that I was there for her as well. She was trying to conceive her first child back then, and she is now pregnant with her third. so that alone should tell you how much our friendship has seen. I never really thought that I would get the opportunity to meet Amy in person, so when she said that she was coming to Chicago for a girls weekend with some friends, I was really excited at the idea of meeting her finally.

We started with plans of getting together tonight, to go to a club, but that started falling apart.. Jen's plans changed with Don going on nights (someone has to be there for the kids), and Tricia went away for the weekend, Jess couldn't make it, and neither could Cory.. and then I am leaving for Vegas tomorrow and I needed to be home to pack and get ready, so we went to plan B.. Brunch. Jen picked me up this morning, and we headed downtown to the hotel where Amy was staying. I was nervous, as I always am when I am first meeting someone, but the minute I saw Amy, it was all ok.. it was like seeing an old friend after a long time.. there was nothing uncomfortable about it at all. It was just so easy and nice.

We had brunch at the hotel, and it was oh so yummy!!! Thank you again for treating us Amy! The time just flew by, and we sat there talking as long as we could. We decided to walk down Michigan Ave. a little before Jen and I headed back, and that was fun too. I wish that we had more time together, it really just flew by. I really am so glad that we had this opportunity, and I really hope that we get another someday.

Jen dropped me off at home, but didn't stay.. and since it was still early enough to go workout, I decided to go.. even though I so didn't want to. I knew that once I got there I would be glad that I did.. and although I sorta struggled thru the workout, I am glad that I went. I had a good workout despite not wanting to be there. Hopefully, I will get up early enough tomorrow to go again before we have to leave.. since I don't really know how much I will be working out in Vegas. I know that we will be doing a lot of working, but my goal is to at least get into the gym there once or twice as well. We will see.. I just don't want to get too far behind... I am already struggling still from Tonny's visit.

After working out, I went to get my eyebrows waxed, and then I went shopping to pick up some stuff we needed for our trip (new toothbrushes, shampoo, toothpaste... you know the necessities, hehe), and I got a few things that I didn't so much need but wanted, hehe.. a new purse (to hold all my winnings, giggle) and some new sunglasses (it's hopefully nice and sunny there this week). I came home and finally started packing. I still have a little packing to do, but I am waiting on some laundry to be finished, and then I will be done, yay. I have never waited this long to pack before... what happened, lol. I am so sure that I will forget something, but hopefully it will not be anything of any great importance.

I can't believe we are leaving tomorrow.. I am sooooooooo excited!!!

Daily Tidbits

  1. I am so tired, but I know that I am going to have a hard time falling asleep because I am so excited. In a way, I am so glad that our flight isn't until the afternoon, but then in another way, I am so anxious to be going, I wish it were in the morning. I will be glad tomorrow though, when we don't have to rush so much.
  2. I weighed in today at 183, ugh!! I am not going to worry about it until after Vegas though...although I did have a great day today.. not only did I workout, but I really didn't eat all that much.. I had a good size meal for bruch with Amy and Jen, but we had a small dinner, and I haven't snacked either, except for an orange... hmmm.. just writing that makes me hungry though, lol... no, I do not want a snack.
  3. Our suitcase is filled to the brim.. we shoved it all into one suitcase, and only the medium one.. maybe we should have taken the big one, or two... gotta have room for souveniers toooooo... oh well, I am sure we will fit everything that we need to fit.. or I will just buy a small bag there to carry on the plane coming home, snicker. Hey, I need souveniers!!!
  4. One year ago today, I was in Vegas (for the first time) already, for my brother in laws wedding... their first anniversary is tomorrow. I can't wait to compare pics from last year to now.. what a difference that is going to be. Maybe I will do a before and after entry when I get back.
  5. Thanks again Amy!! I am so so so very glad that I got to meet you. You are exactly what I thought you would be.. and I am honored to call you a friend. And Thanks Jen for picking me up and spending the morning with me. I am so glad that I got to see you before I left for Vegas...
  6. I am going to miss everyone while I am gone.. but not too much, I will be too busy having fun. Miss me though, k?

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image