Current Archives About Me Host Design

Once in a Blue Moon
10-31-2001,

Once in a Blue Moon...

October 31, 2001

Happy Halloween Everyone!! It's been an okay one... I mean it had it's nice moments, and it was great weather out, so it was nice to be able to see all the kids in costumes and not all bundled up in coats and rain gear...but I was also pretty sad about something too. Today is the first Halloween that we didn't take the girls trick or treating since they were each born . I tried to pretend that it didn't matter, but it did... it mattered very much. I know that they have a new family now, and I try so hard to respect that, but Halloween was mine... Halloween was the one holiday that I could call my own with them.

Sherry hates Halloween! She always has, even as a child. I can remember many a halloween that I went out and got enough candy to share with her, while she helped my mom pass out candy at home. She wanted to part of trick or treating, she just hated it so much. So when the girls were born, it was only natural that I take them out, and I enjoyed that special time with them. I still remember each of their first halloween's, and 2nd and third... Last year, I wasn't supposed to have the girls for the first time (Sherry had just gotten married and Chuck wanted to take them out), but the girls said that they wanted to go with us and they relented and let them. However, this year Chuck made plans to go to his dad's house with them, and that was that. I am not complaining... they have a new family with Chuck and his family and they should enjoy that... but it's still sad.

I didn't decorate for Halloween this year... I kept saying that I didn't feel like it.. but I know that a big part was that I knew that I wouldn't have the kids this year, and it just didn't seem like halloween to me. We did have fun over the weekend with all the halloween-type activities we did, but man, I missed them today. I hope they had fun.

We went to Stephen's mom and dad's for dinner tonight, since I can't go tomorrow (I will be on my way to Virginia, woo hoo). We had chinese and Gerald and Michelle and the kids came over too. Stephen got to take them trick or treating a little, and it really made his whole night, and I got to get pictures of them in their costumes, which made my whole night. I will still get a halloween page in my scrapbook, hehe. It ended up not being as horrible as I expected, but even Stephen's family kept asking, where are Chrissy and June. Everyone knows that they spend halloween with us, LOL.... Guess things change.

Tonight is a full moon... not only that, it is a blue moon. Stephen and I were out looking at it tonight, hehe. Now we are going to do our annual tradition and watch Halloween. Gotta watch a Michael Meyers movie on Halloween... just gotta do it. Chrissy loves all the Halloween movies.. I wonder if she is missing it tonight... OKAY OKAY, I need to get passed this, LOL.

I still have a few more things to pack for tomorrow. I can't believe that time time tomorrow we will be almost seeing Tonya and the girls. I am so looking forward to this visit. We are going to have such a great time...such a wonderful time. I am so excited and anxious. Fun weekend, here we come...

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image