Current Archives About Me Host Design

A Couple of Hours...
11-04-2003, 10:07 p.m.

For our December get-together, I asked Jen if we could volunteer a couple of hours of our time together. I am not sure where yet, a nursing home, battered woman�s shelter, soup kitchen, the possibilities are endless. I did call Chuck though (he works in a home for mentally disabled children as a social worker), and asked him for information on volunteering either in his home, or another like it. When I asked, he got so excited, so very excited and said that these kids are starved for attention, so I am sorta leaning towards this. Now I am starting to think that I might look into volunteering for a couple of hours one Saturday or Sunday per month. A couple of hours won�t hurt me none, but could be very helpful for someone else. We will see what happens. I have always wanted to volunteer, I am just really so shy and it�s hard to know how to get started or if I can even get into it really (I get pretty down about these things, I am a bit of an emotional person, if you haven�t noticed, hehe), but I am hopeful that I can. Plus, I think that doing it with Jen the first time is going to make it so much easier. Something about not being alone, and plus Jen already volunteers a lot, so this is nothing new for her.

So�believe it or not, today was day 4 in the gym, and it�s getting easier, much like I hoped that it would. I am so thankful for that. I think that I even wanted to go tonight. Okay, maybe I won�t go that far, but I certainly didn�t try to talk myself out of it near as much as I have been. It�s definitely the first time I have done 4 days in a row in quite a long time. It�s a start.

I went out to lunch today with my friend Laura. We went to PF Changs, yum and had such a great time. I really enjoy her company so very much, and the time just flies when we go out. We decided that we are going to try to go at least once a month now, and I am looking forward to that. I would like to start doing stuff with her outside of work too, and we keep talking about it, but so far we�ve not made any plans. She is really cool though and she is becoming such a good friend. I am glad that I�ve been taking the time to really get to know her.

I worked on making a couple of birthday cards tonight, and it was fun, but I really think that I need to really work on this a bit. When it comes to doing a scrapbook page, the ideas come easily, but with cards, I find it to be much harder. I hear it gets easier though, I sure hope so, hehe. I need to think of an idea for a cute Anniversary card for Stephen. Our anniversary is on Saturday, and I know that I could go buy a card, but he has been so proud of me for the cards that I�ve been making, so I know that he will appreciate and love me making him one. I still can�t believe that we are celebrating our 12th anniversary in a few days� that just seems so unreal to me.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image