Current Archives About Me Host Design

A Good Start for 12
11-08-2003, 10:50 p.m.

Happy 12th Anniversary to me and my honey!!!! Today has totally been just one of the *best* days!! For Stephen�s gift, I took him to the Penn State game. They were playing Northwestern, here at Northwestern, and since Penn State has been his favorite team since he was a little boy, what better way to spend the day. Especially given the fact that neither Stephen nor I have ever been to a college game, and to be able to go together our first time was just amazing.

He has been so excited since I told him that I was getting us tickets earlier in the week (I didn�t know they were playing here, since I don�t follow his team like he does, heck it�s hard enough following all my own teams, hehe). Quite honestly, I think that I�ve been just as excited as he has been too. So, this morning we had to get up early and hit the road. We made sure that we dressed warmly, in layers, since the weather forecast was cold cold cold. They were not kidding, and we found ourselves in the middle of a VERY snowy game!!!! The stadium is right off the lake, so it was lake-effect snow, and a lot of it. It made for a very fun time though, even though it was pretty cold.

The whole experience was awesome from start to finish, one of those days where everything just seems to go right. We got there, parked, took the shuttle to the stadium, walked around to will call to pick up our tickets, and as I was going up to get them, I hear Stephen calling me.. turns out that the visiting player locker room is right there, so we got to see all the players coming out. Stephen was beside himself with excitement getting to see the players up close, but most importantly, getting to see the coach that he has watched for a lot of years. I got some awesome pictures of the whole thing.

Eventually we made our way in to the stadium and found our seats, which turned out to be absolutely awesome. I just got them a few days ago, but we were on the 30 yard line, just a few rows up. I could not believe how many Penn State fans there were there and we were in the middle of a great crowd. I kid you not, there had to be as many Penn State fans there as Northwestern fans. It was awesome. The crowd was lively and just a lot of fun.

Let�s see� some of the highlights of the day� the mascot came over by us. Given my fondness for mascots, that was awesome, and I even got my picture taken with him. I was so excited.

Later, as we were sitting there, I hear Stephen exclaim, OMG� I was like, what?? He said, that is Franco Harris sitting there. I was like, yah right� but he swore it was� so the guy behind us says.. where? Stephen points to this guy sitting about 15 feet from us.. the guy starts jumping up and down exclaiming, omg it is!! Franco Harris is a hall of fame player who played with the Pittsburg Steelers in the 70s and was part of 4 super bowl championships. I sorta knew who he was (at least the name after Stephen explained it all to me) because he finished his career with the Seahawks, so while I didn't exactly know who he was was, I had heard of him. He played college at Penn State also, which is why he was at a Penn State game. During half-time, people were going over to talk to him, so we did too, and he offered to take a picture with us (well I had a camera in my hand, which would explain that). Stephen was just so damn excited, and couldn�t wait to call his brother to tell him who he had met. It was totally cool.

The only downer to the whole day was that Penn State lost, but even that couldn�t put a damper on any of it. I had so much fun at my first college game, and I am really looking forward to Stephen�s anniversary present to me� tickets for the TN game in 2 weeks. Now *that* is going to be an awesome experience for me.

Stephen and I talked about going out to dinner on our way home from the game, but I started getting a horrible migraine and even had to get out of the car to throw up at one point on the way home, so I asked him if he would mind just coming home. I took a nap and then got up to watch the wolves game together. It�s been a really nice evening at home, and while there is no excitement in that, it is totally what we enjoy doing most. The perfect way to end a perfect day.

12 years... that is such an accomplishment now a days� and I am still every bit as in love with him as I was all those years ago. I look forward to seeing what the next 12 years bring. Life is good. At least for today, giggle� and that is what counts right now.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image