Current Archives About Me Host Design

And Just Like That
11-10-2002, 9:34 p.m.

And Just Like That...

November 10, 2002

Everything changes... lol. I tell you, just when I think I have things figured out someone comes along and throws a wrench into my plans. I should be used to it, and maybe it's a way to keep me on my toes, but lol, sometimes I think that someone out there has a badddd sense of humor.

I guess I should explain what I am rambling about, hehe. This morning, I went to workout as soon as the gym opened (yay, I looked forward to going too, so I think that I am starting to get back to wanting to go).. so that I could get home and take a shower and get over to Stephen's mom's house. I told Delores (Stephen's twin sister) that I would help her with some stuff on her new sewing machine. When I got there, we started talking about Christmas, and she told me that she talked to Kevin about it, and they thought it would be a good idea to do a grab bag this year.. actually two grab bags.. one for the kids, and one for the adults, and since Stephen and I don't have any kids, we don't need to take any kids names. At first, my heart sunk, because I really do love buying gifts for the kids, but if I were to be honest, it's gotten to be a circus of sorts on christmas day with all the kids tearing into their million gifts, not even knowing who bought them what. They just really get sooo much. And with the fact that there are now 13 kids on Stephen's side of the family, you can imagine it gets pretty expensive.. so the more I thought about it, the more I realized that maybe they are right. I guess I would rather spend a couple more dollars on each of them for their birthdays (most of which are from Jan-March anyway, lol).

Then I realized, I bought all that stuff for those tree skirts, lol.. opps. Guess I won't be needing to make them for my SILs now. But, it's not like I don't have other people that I can give them to, so that will get other gifts out of the way too. I had already bought 3 of my neices their gift, but the store only had 3, and it was the same thing I wanted to get for some of the other kids that I still have to buy for. I was going to go back to get them later, and now I won't have to. Man, it's just funny because I JUST had my christmas list set and going well.. so much for that, time to rethink. Of course, once I rethink it all, something will change.. there is no such thing as being ahead of yourself, I am convinced of that.

So I heard that Sears was having a big sale today, and I asked Stephen if he minded if I ran over there while he took a shower and got ready to go out to dinner. He of course didn't mind, so off I went. I am sooooooooooo glad that I did. I really wanted to get an outfit for our couples night Thanksgiving next weekend. Cory and I both agreed that it would be fun to dress up, kinda how you would dress up to go to Thanksgiving, since we don't get to do holidays together, and we are roping the rest of them into it with us. So I wanted to get a skirt or a nice pair of pants and a sweater or something. I tried on some skirts, and a few I really loved, but then I found some nice dress pants that really looked great on me, and since I really could use some for work, I decided to get that. Then, they had this sweater that I have been wanting forever... it is sooo beautiful, but it was pretty expensive (normally 62 or something), so I never got it.. well today it was marked 40% off, so I grabbed it, along with this other sweater that I wanted before that was on sale for 19.99... Imagine my surprise when I am checking out, and my pants (which were marked 34) rang up for 16 and she says.. oh, and they are an additonal 50% off.. 8 bucks, for nice pants... you better believe I ran back and got 2 more pair, lol.. and then that sweater I wanted so bad.. it rang up for 25, which I was so happy about.. and then she says, oh look, it's an additional 50% off!!! 12.50.. I guess it does pay to wait sometimes. I can't wait to wear it Saturday, I love it. Stephen teases me about it though.. it has a fur collar, hehe.. hey, I look good in it, giggle.. Jen, make sure your house is cool, lol. So I had a great shopping trip.. I got 3 pair of nice pants and 2 beautiful sweaters for like 66 bucks. Can't beat that.

So Stephen and I went out to dinner tonight, to dunlaps. We both had awesome awesome steaks. It was wonderful, and romantic, and fun. It's this little place right in the woods... it was an old house that was remodeled into a restaurant, and it has glass walls, overlooking the woods, and a creek. The trees were all different colors and it was just so charming. I am glad we waited until tonight to go, because it is crowded on Fridays and Saturdays, and wasn't so bad tonight, so it just seemed more romantic somehow. We had a nice anniversary weekend, and I am sad that it's over... but mostly just cause I don't want to go to work tomorrow, lol.

Daily Tidbits

  1. I got another ornament done tonight, yay. I am just moving right along with my christmas crafts. I am so pleased at how well it's working out. I put most of my scrapbook stuff away so I could concentrate on all this, and it helps to just be focussed on one thing. Now I just need to work on being more careful with the hot glue gun.. I tell you my fingers are about raw from picking off burning glue, ouch. I guess there is a price to pay for making something so beautiful. Speaking of beautiful, I have one tree skirt done, well not done, the top is done, now I need to do the bindings.. I can't wait to take a picture and show you, it turned out soooo nice.
  2. I need to remember to tell Tonya to bring something nice to wear to our Thanksgiving dinner. I am so excited that she is coming.. I can't wait. Oh, and to remind her to bring workout clothes too.. hey, we are going to have to work off that thanksgiving dinner, hehe.
  3. Stephen has to be to work early tomorrow. It is finals week for us, ugh.. which will make for a longggg week. My final is Thursday.. I almost wish it was tomorrow.. since I need to have our grades done in order to take half of Friday and all of next Monday off.. I will have to bust my butt on Thursday and Friday morning. I can do it though, I am good like that.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image