Current Archives About Me Host Design

Anti-Scrooge
11-25-2002, 9:31 p.m.

Anti-Scrooge...

November 25, 2002

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas. I can't believe how much Christmas is popping up around us, in the stores, in people's yards, everywhere you look. I totally love it and I have very much been in the Christmas spirit.

Last night while Sherry and Chuck were here, we talked about our annual tradition of putting up our chrismtas tree together. They never really put one up because they lived in an apartment and didn't have the room to put up a full tree. Well, last Christmas, since I knew that they were buying a house and would be in one this Christmas, we bought them a really nice tree for their christmas present. They loved it and can't wait to put it up this year, so we were talking about how we need to make it a double tradition now and help each other put up our trees. Then we got to talking about how Sherry is such a scrooge.

It was funny. Sherry really kinda is a scrooge, she has never been big on any holiday. Well she of course denies it, and finally she asked Stephen to tell us that she isn't a scrooge.. he stuck up for her.. so I said, Yah, and I am a scrooge... to which he almost choked on his soda.. he laughed and said, honey you are the complete opposite of a scrooge.. you are the anti-scrooge. Everyone was cracking up. Hey, was that an insult or a compliment? Somehow I am not so sure.

Today on the way to work, I turned on the local radio station that plays christmas music 24 hours a day during this season. They started today, and I couldn't resist listening to it. Stephen just sorta rolled his eyes as I sang all the way to work, totally loving every minute of it. On the way home tonight though, I noticed that he kept turning that station on for me, but only for a song or two and then he would find something else to listen to. At least he let's me listen to a little, hehe. We have an unspoken rule that I pick what we listen to in the mornings and he picks what we listen to in the evenings. It works well for us, and makes it so we don't argue about what stations we are listening to.

Tonight, I went to go workout, and I had a great workout. I really am going to work this week on getting more excited about my work outs again. I think that I just haven't been enjoying them lately, and I want to get back to where I was with them. I spent the time I was lifting weights, thinking about different Christmas things and it made the time go by really quick.

On the way home from the gym, I stopped to look at christmas cards and wrapping paper for my cabinets. I got the cutest cards, and where it usually takes me a long time to pick out the perfect ones, these I fell in love with right away (they were like the third card I looked at). Picking the paper for my cabinets was a little harder as it usually is, but I ended up picking out this beautiful multi-blues colored paper with white snowflakes on it. Then I found these beautiful sparkly snowflake ornaments to hang on them. I really am pleased with it and I can't wait to get started wrapping.. perhaps tomorrow night. I am really wanting to do it now, but Stephen is waiting for me to watch a movie with him, and sometimes that is more important. Besides, there is plenty of time.

Daily Tidbits

  1. I wasn't even sure that I wanted to do christmas cards this year, I wasn't really feeling like it, but now that I have really cute cards I am excited to do so again. They are a lot of work, and Stephen never really helps with them, but I enjoy getting cards, and I enjoy sending them too.. so I am not complaining. I will start working on them this weekend.
  2. My mom wants me to go to Indiana with them this weekend to celebrate thanksgiving with my grandparents and aunts and uncles, but there is really so much that I want to get done around here. We were going to put up our tree, and I am supposed to go to Tricia's on saturday to watch Christmas movies. I hate disappointing my mom, but I just really don't think I am going to go with them.
  3. I need to go shopping tomorrow night for the stuff that I am making for Thanksgiving and I need to get the stuff done for Stephen's parents house. We are going straight to my mom and dad's from work Wednesday night and spending the night, so I need to have the stuff ready to pick up Thursday before we go to his mom and dad's. I guess I could always make my stuff at my mom and dad's Wednesday night if I had to. I dunno, we'll see.
  4. My mom said that my uncle Gary and aunt Rosie are coming in from Indiana to have Thanksgiving with us Thursday. I am not sure I believe that they will come, but I really and truly hope that they do, I haven't seen them in years and we used to be really very close, and I would love to spend some time with them.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image