Current Archives About Me Host Design

"Let's Go Wolves"
12-01-2002, 8:36 p.m.

"Let's Go Wolves"...


December 01, 2002

Last night we went to the Wolves game with Gary and Rose. We almost didn't go. When they got to our house, they said that they didn't want to go. They have a little dog that was with them, and the dog was sick from being fed too much at the table, lol. But mostly, Rose wasn't sure that she really wanted to go to begin with. She has never even watched a game of hockey on TV, let alone gone to a game. I was really disappointed, but I didn't say that I was.. I figured that I wouldn't force them to go if they didn't want to, even though I had been really looking forward to it.

I had made a pot of chili in the crock pot all day, and they were starving, so we sat down to eat pretty much right after they got there, and as we were eating, they started asking more questions about the Wolves... "are they a college team?" my uncle asks.. lol.. no, they are a professional team, the AHL, one step down from the MHL .. when he heard that, he was interested again, and looked over at Rosie.. and she says, okayyy, let's go. I of course had to assure them that I would not be made if we got back and found that the doggie had had an accident on the carpet. I have a small carpet cleaner, and I assured them that it would not be the end of the world. I lent Rose one of my jerseys and we were off on our way.

We had a fun time on the ride there. Gary and Stephen were again debating something about religion, so I said to Rose, let's practice.. "Let's Go Wolves".. LMAO.. she was screaming it at the top of her lungs in the car.. I was cracking up.. it sure shut Stephen and Gary up though. She caught on to that chat real quick, and screamed it half the night I must say. When we got there, I got our tickets while they waited by the door... and then we went to our seats. They started getting excited right when we got in there.. they said it was nothing like they pictured... We got there for the skate-around, and we caught a puck for her, which totally excited her. She couldn't wait for the game to start then. The Wolves have a light and fireworks show before every game, and Rose was giggling thru it like a little kid.. Once the game started, you couldn't keep her in her seat. She was so excited by it all, and you could tell within a few minutes that she was loving it. She later said that it was the most fun she ever had.

I had snuck off when we first got there, to get us some chuck-a-pucks, and while I was at the service desk, I paid to have their names on the score board. Oh man, I swear, you would think that noone had ever done anything nice for them before the way they went on and on about it. They even asked me to print out a picture of it for them to take home. I also gave Rose a whole bunch of my wolves stuff, because she was so very excited by it all, and she already had plans where she was going to set it all up. They are already talking about when they can come back to go to another game. We are also talking about going to a Grand Rapids game with them when the Wolves play there, it is only an hour and a half from their house. Aunt Rose was like.. you have to let me borrow one of your jerseys then too. I so love that they loved it so much. They kept thanking us. I felt like I should be thanking them, I had such a wonderful evening with them. All day today, Rose kept howling and screaming "Let's go Wolves".. I think she is hooked, giggle. She even asked Uncle Gary what channels hockey come on, on TV so she can watch some games. My uncle drives a semi and is gone all week, so she plans on watching hockey every night now, lol. I invited them to come to the game in January that we are going to for my birthday. I hope that they can come.

Oh yah, and the wolves on, in over-time. It was a wonderfully exciting game, and we really had such a wonderful time.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image