Current Archives About Me Host Design

Snowflakes
12-02-2002, 10:30 p.m.

Snowflakes seem to be my "theme" this year. I finished wrapping my cabinets. They look so adorable, even more so than any other year that I can remember. I paid a bit extra for some specialty paper that was at the store. It is so pretty, different shades of blue with snowflakes. Then I found some really pretty glittery snowflakes that matched the paper and I bought those. I hung them on the cabinets with pretty blue ribbon. They also had matching table cloths and such, and I bought 2, one for when my table is smaller (which is how we keep it normally), and then a bigger one for when we put the leafs in the table on Christmas eve. It matches the paper exactly (the specialty paper had all sorts of matching things, paper plates, napkins, to name a few). I also got some extra of the glittery snowflakes and I hung them in the window in there. It just looks so perfect. Now I just need to wrap the pictures on the walls in there (I do some of my pictures as presents on the wall too.. it always looks so cute). I took some pictures and they are cute, but they just don't really show how adorable it looks. Still, you can get an idea. Each set of cabinets has the ribbons done in a different way too, and if you look closely you can see the white snowflakes hanging on there too (you can really see them good in person).

So, I really wanted to have snowflakes on my journal layout this year too, and I did like the look I had (before tonight), except it just didn't *pop* for me. I think it was the colors, they were just too dull for what I normally like.. then I came across this, and I knew that it was exactly what I was looking for. I totally love it now! I will probably add some small touches and stuff but for the most part, I am totally pleased with it.

Another thing I am totally pleased with is how well my Christmas decorating is coming along. In the past, we always spent one whole day doing it, and it was nice to get it done, but it was hard, and we were miserable by the time we got it all up. This year, we have that entertainment center in our bedroom that my parents gave us, and so on Saturday, I started moving all the stuff (pictures and nicknacks) from the living room into all the cabinets that are in the entertainment center. I can't belive how much easier that made things. We used to bring in our christmas boxes, unpack them, then pack all the pictures and non-christmas stuff up into those boxes, then take them out. Because I was able to clear the room first this year, I have been able to have Stephen bring me in a few boxes at a time, and it's been sooooo easy.

We moved our furniture around yesterday, but what I really wanted was to move our entertainment center that is in the living room. This thing is SOOOO heavy, so it's not easy to move at all. Finally tonight, Stephen agreed to do it, yay. So we moved all the furniture around again, and then I put up my christmas village and some other stuff. Now tomorrow night we are going to bring in the tree and put that up and then decorate it. It has been so nice taking our time, I doubt I will ever go back to trying to get it done in one day again. My crafts are coming along so well too. I am really getting a lot done and I just feel so not-stressed this year (so far anyway).

Speaking of snowflakes, it has been snowing all day and now all evening too, and it's really piling up out there. I need to get Stephen to shovel again before we go to bed so it's easier for me to get out in the morning. I took today as my day off from working out so that I could get all this christmas stuff done, so I really need to get up and go in the morning, and now I will go on Thursday too.

I wonder if Jen is on her way to Charlotte yet. She had a flight out at 3 this afternoon, and when I talked to Don at 10, she still was sitting at the airport waiting...I hope it doesn't take her all night to get there.. sometimes, in some ways these snowflakes can be a hassle.

And before I go.. a very very happy Birthday to my friend Tricia! I hope that you are enjoying it so very much. Enjoy Disney and the good weather. Hope you are not stuck in an airport tomorrow like Jen is tonight. We will miss ya.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image