Current Archives About Me Host Design

Sheep in the Big City
12-14-2001,

Sheep in the Big City...

December 14, 2001

I received a package from Tonya last night that had me cracking up. Okay, let me back up a little bit... when Jen and I were visiting Tonya in Virginia back in November, we spent some time at Tonya's Secret Beach. It was a very nice trip, especially because it is such a very special place to Tonya. Well, as we were walking to the car, I said something about how many pinecones were everywhere. Yes, we can get pinecones around here too, but theirs were so big and full and not broken as the ones around here often are. Knowing that Christmas was coming up soon, I said that I wished I had a bag with me to collect some of these pinecones and take them home. Tonya offered to send me some thru the mail later though, and I was happy for that.

So, last week, Tonya mentioned that she had gone and collected some pinecones for me and that she would be sending them shortly... and yesterday they got to my house. Now why would pinecones be comical, you might be thinking... okay, well if you would just read ahead and stop thinking, you would have your answer, giggle.

When Tonya told me that she was sending the package, she also made a comment about something that the girls wanted to place in the package and not to worry, that it was there on purpose, not on accident. To be perfectly honest, I was only half paying attention to her at the time (hey give me a break, I was at work, and I was busy... sometimes I have to half pay attention to work as well as my talking, giggle).

So imagine my surprise when I open this box and find more than pinecones...First of all, there were candy canes.. awwww, I love candy canes, but then I had told Tonya that before. When we were kids, my mom always put candy canes on the tree, and I would always sneak them off and eat them, usually in the middle of the night. Needless to say, the tree was candy-cane-less by mid December. So I stuck my new candy canes from Tonya on my own tree, to join the few that are left from the boxes of them I put on just last week, hehe. They will be gone before Christmas eve, I am sure. But that is neither here nor there.

Back to my box... as I was pulling out the pine-cones and looking at them, and admiring how perfect they were and thinking of things I could do with them... like make a wreath like the one Jen made... LOL, my family calls me edith, because when I tell a story, I tend to go off into a million little tangents and never finish the first story at all. My stories usually last a long time and make no sense what-so-ever, and I think that you are getting that point right now. Okay, box, pine-cones... and a surprise... a little guy, giggle... a funny looking thing... Sheep in the Big City, LOL. I don't think I ever saw that cartoon, but I now know that I am going to have to make a point of checking it out.

Thank you Maddy and Rachel for the very thoughtful surprise. I love my guy, and I have put him on my desk for the time being. I was thinking of sticking a ribbon on him to put him on my christmas tree, but I am now thinking that I would like to see the wonderfulness of this very special gesture all year round. I hope you girls know how much I love you. Thank you again.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image