Current Archives About Me Host Design

Smelly Candle Store
12-19-2002, 10:14 p.m.

Today has been a long day, but a pretty good one as well. I started out this morning feeling pretty crappy. Although I did sleep much better last night, I didn't want to get up this morning, and so it was a struggle to go and workout. I probably should have just taken the day off, because I really struggled through the workout as well. It really wasn't the greatest workout, but I guess that I can be proud that I went, even when it was the last thing I wanted to do.

Stephen took the day off today because he wasn't feeling very well either, and he really wanted me to take the day off too... because he really wanted me to stay in bed and get better (or maybe he just wanted me to take care of him, which sounds more realistic, lol).. but I knew that I had stuff to take care of this morning, so I went in to work, and got my stuff done, and then my boss said that I could have the afternoon off.

I decided that I was going to go out and see Jen. I haven't seen her really in a while.. I mean, quality us time, and it just sounded like a nice thing to do. We went and had lunch and then shopping. It was such a nice afternoon. Jen said I had an alterior motive, because I wanted to go to what she has termed the *smelly candle store* and while she is right in that I wanted to go there, having lunch with her was wonderful (besides, I could have gone to the smelly candle store closer to my house, lol). I did want go get candles though, for Christmas eve, and I was glad that Jen was with me for that. She hates hates hates most candles, and so I let her pick one out that she can handle.. and now she can't complain. Smart move, I'd say...and she thinks my motive was to shop... hmmmm, try again, giggle.

I left Jen's early, so as to miss traffic coming home, and besides I did want to come home and hang out with Stephen, and to get some rest. I don't know how much rest I got.. I sewed on some of my pojects while he played on the computer, and then I spent the last 3 hours watching Survivor and wrapping gifts. I can't believe that I still have gifts to wrap.. heck, I can't believe how much time one person can actually spend wrapping gifts.. my back is killing me. I just got done telling Stephen how he needs to start helping me... why do I have to shop for all the gifts AND wrap them all???? I am tired of hearing that he doesn't know how, or can't... Why is it that Men get out of these things?? And yet, they get half the credit.. his name is on almost every gift tag with mine, and on some without mine (gifts for people at work).. what the heck... I think I need to go on strike here. Well maybe not.. my tree does look so pretty with all the nicely wrapped gifts all with ribbons and bows.. sigh, but still.

Well, I guess I better get to bed.. everything else can wait until tomorrow. It's just that I don't have that many more tomorrow's left before Christmas, and I have so much to do... I totally love having christmas eve at my house and I wouldn't trade that for anything, but it is a lot of work, cleaning, cooking and the works. Oh and speaking of cooking, Stephen told his mom I would bring the crab salad.. UM HELLO... I don't even like crab, and have never made that before... I better call my mom to get her recipe... now that I think about it, maybe his helping me only makes me more work... maybe I should really forget the strike and do it all myself afterall... hmmm, this is going to be worth thinking about.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image