Current Archives About Me Host Design

Sleeping the Day Away
12-30-2001,

Sleeping the Day Away...

December 30, 2001

I woke up in the middle of the night in tons of pain. Well, let me go back a bit.. a few nights ago, I told Stephen that my stomach really hurt. It was the night that we had the junk food night, and although I didn't eat very much, I figured that is what was upsetting my tummy. Then last night on our way home from the game, my stomach was killing me again. Stephen said maybe it was the junk food I ate at the game, but then when we were talking about it, I realized the only thing that I got at the game was nachos... I only ate one or two when the fight between the goalies broke out. I handed the nachos to the girls, and took tons of pictures and cheered on our goalie, and then I was just so excited, that I didn't even want to take the nachos back, and the girls ate them. So I hardly think that 2 nacho chips and a lemonade could make my tummy hurt, so we figured it was all the excitement of the game. I took some advil and went to bed after I wrote in my journal, and was fine. June climbed into bed with us around 2ish, and I couldn't fall back to sleep for a bit because my stomach hurt again. I finally did, but kept waking up as the pain was intensifying. It wasn't all over my stomach anymore...but concentrated on the left side. The pain was finally more than I could handle, so I woke up Stephen and my brother... Stephen to take me to the ER, and my brother to watch the girls until we got home. We got to the ER about 6:30 this morning. They right away asked if Kidney stones ran in my family, and wanted to do a cat scan as that was what they suspected after I described the pain. They also put in an IV and gave me some pain medication, so I was feeling much better in no time. Well it turns out they were right, and I have 2 small kidney stones which are working their way out. They gave me some morphine in my IV, and let me sleep for about an hour and then I was able to go home with a prescription for more pain medication.

We got home around 11 and the girls were waiting for us, a bit worried, but once they saw I was okay, they felt better. We were supposed to go to our niece Kimberly's birthday party today, but I was so out of it from the Morphine that Stephen didn't want me to go. So I made them something to eat (Stephen was going to make it, but I really wanted to, so he relented and ran to pick up my prescription instead). After he got back, I went to bed. He got the girls ready for the party, and they left. I slept the whole time they were gone (well, I woke up once when he called to check on me). I heard the phone ringing several times, but it was like it was off in the distance most of the time and I just couldn't get up. I woke up around 3:30 for a while, and then went back to sleep. Stephen got home at 5:30 (the girls stayed for Kimberly's sleep-over), and he made me get up and eat something, but I was back in bed and sleeping by 6. I slept until after 9, and then got up to eat a little something again. So basically, I spent this whole day in bed. I did read a little bit in between all the sleep, and I finished off the 2nd Harry Potter book and started on the 3rd (thanks for lending them to me Jen). I just took a pain pill as I was starting to feel a little crampy and stuff again, and believe it or not I am still so very tired, so I will be going back to bed in a bit... might as well, it seems to be all I could do today.

I am so upset that I missed Kimberly's party today though. She is my goddaughter, and she really loves having me at her stuff. I know she understands (she turns 8 on New Years Day), but I missed out on being there... Oh, and I won't have any pictures for my scrapbook from her party this year (pout). I guess I will have to take lots of extra pictures tomorrow to cheer me up, lol (can you tell I love my new digital camera so very much). Tomorrow is New Year's Eve! I can't believe it...where did this year go. We are celebrating at Jen's and I am so excited about that. I can't wait to pick up the girls tomorrow either, I miss them so much...man, how am I going to be when they have to go home next Saturday. Time flies so quickly. Well back to bed for me. I should have tons of energy tomorrow, for all the sleep I have had today, or at least you would think so.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image