Current Archives About Me Host Design

Happy Thoughts
05-27-2004, 9:25 p.m.

The past few days have been so wonderful. Tuesday night, my dinner with Cory was perfect. We had such a great time, sitting and talking, catching up, and of course eating wonderful food, which is always a good thing, hehe. It had been a long time since she and I had the chance to do anything alone together, and sometimes I forgot how important it is to make time for stuff like that. I am glad that we did, and it made all the difference in the world.

Yesterday�s lunch with Jen was a total continuation of that, and I was so surprised to see that 3 hours had gone by so quickly. It is amazing how much we had to talk about, and it really reminded me of how little we really get to talk lately, something else that I really need to work on. I thought for sure that my boss was going to kill me when I got back, but luckily he didn�t care, and just shrugged it off, phew.

Today, I had to be to work early to set up a bagel breakfast with our president and deans. The other secretary who usually does that is on vacation and asked me to take care of it for her. I didn�t mind, it was fun actually. We have these every few months and it is a chance for our building to talk about issues and find out things that are going on around our campus. One thing we learned today is that after 2 years of really searching for the perfect names, they are ready to rename all of our buildings. And the building I work in is getting an extra special name. They are naming it after him. He was such an important person to me, and to our university as a whole and the announcement today made a lot of people happy. I had tears in my eyes, and I couldn�t be more thrilled that they are remembering him and his contributions in this way. What a great honor. I will be so happy to work in a building that carries his name, although I don�t need that to feel him there. Every time I walk into my now-boss�s office (which was his), I can feel him. I think we all can.

One of the most happiest things about today though is the fact that we are getting ready for Tonny's girls. They will be arriving tomorrow, adn we are just so excited. I can't wait to see them, but more than that, I can't wait to see her see them. I know how wonderful it is going to be.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image