Current Archives About Me Host Design

Girls Day
12-27-2002, 9:54 p.m.

Today was our 2nd Annual Girl's Pajama Party. Last year we went to Jen's house a few days after Christmas, for brunch, and we wore our jammies. We had such a wonderful time, that we decided to make it an annual tradition. This year we picked Cory's house, so this morning, Chrissy, June and I headed over there, as did Jen and Nicole. Jen and I had talked about maybe meeting half way and driving the rest of the way together, but I ended up sleeping later than I had planned on, so I didn't have time to meet up with her. The girls and I packed up the car, and headed out ourselves. I am glad too, because Jen got caught in some pretty heavy traffic and I ended up beating her there.

Before we left, the girls asked me to make them smoothies, so I made strawberry banana smoothies, and took them in my travel cups. I made a lot, so I didn't think that they (especially June) would finish it, but man, she drank the whole thing, and wanted more. (In fact, they have been begging for another one all night so I just made them one). Traffic was a little worse than I thought it would be, but we made it to Cory's in one piece, ready to have some fun.

Jen got there shortly after I did, and so girls day officially began. I made a hash brown casserole, but had to cook it once I got to Cory's, and she had made a french toast casserole and was baking it as well. Jen brought tons of yummy fruit, so she cut it up and we snacked on that while the other stuff was cooking. Jen was worried that she might have to leave early because the boys were at home sick, so we decided to go ahead and open gifts while we were waiting for the food to finish baking. We let the kids open theirs first, and then they went off to play with the new toys that they got, while we opened our gifts. I can't even believe the generosity of my friends. Jen had given me gifts on Christmas eve, but we had decided that we were going to save something for today.. and so I was surprised when she came in with bags and bags. She got me a few things that she knew that I really wanted... this kitty frame that says meow (for a picture of meow, aww), a ton of yankee candle tarts, a beautiful butterfly tart burner, some snowflake plates and serving tray, a book that I cannot wait to read, a french memo board and some beautiful stained glass pieces. I just loved everything and am so touched by all that she got me, it was amazing, sniff sniff. Cory got me an awesome Christmas CD, which I listened to on the way home.. it was great... and then she surprised me with something that I really totally wanted. She and Tonya chipped in and got me a Crop Station. I was totally in shock when I opened it, I so never even suspected that they would buy me such an awesome gift (remember a few months back, I was looking at them to buy one because I really wanted one, but decided that they were just too expensive). I so can't believe that they got it for me, and I already have it filling up with my scrapbook stuff. I am really looking forward to the crop that we are doing in January now, I am going to be styling, hehe. I really can't thank my friends enough for all that they got me for Christmas, this has been a wonderful christmas, and I have gotten so many awesome gifts, and even better, I have had such a wonderful time spending time with my family and friends.

After we opened our gifts, we ate a very yummy breakfast. Cory's french toast casserole was totally awesome, and I really have to try making that one, since the girls loved it as well. After we ate, we took some cute pictures in front of the tree, and then we went to play cards. We had fun playing our favorite, Phase 10, even though we missed Tonny while we were playing (we usually play the 4 of us). It was a great day, and I was sad when it was time to head home. I wanted to get on the road before traffic got bad, but I really would have liked to stay longer. Still, I was glad to get home in a decent amount of time. I hit a little bit of traffic towards the end of the ride, but it would have been a whole lot worse had I left later.

When I got home, I had a pounding headache, so I took some advil, and decided not to go workout. But then as I was sitting there watching a movie with Stephen and the girls, I decided that I really wanted to workout, so I went to the gym afterall, which kinda helped my headache for a while. June has been sorta screachy tonight, so my head is really starting to hurt again now, but not too bad yet. I think I am going to go lay down while they watch a movie with Stephen. I am tired, it's been a long day, and we really did a lot. I am really enjoying this vacation so far. I have been doing good keeping up with my workouts too, which is a good thing since I have been snacking sooooo much the past few days. Ah, I will get back on track after vacation, hehe.

leave a comment
0 so far

last - next

Links Rings Email Notes Book Image